A Medical Procedure Can Mirror Christ’s Healing Victory

healingLynn shares the miraculous healing of her brother and how it makes her reflect in God’s gifts.

“For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed . . . but with the precious blood of Christ . . .” (1 Peter 1: 18-19).

Since mid July, 2013 to this present time, I have been enmeshed in a journey; watching God intervene in the life of my twin brother, David.

He entered the hospital for routine surgery. In part, the following ensued ten days later with a second surgery: sepsis shock, MRSA positive, pneumonia, ventilator, feeding tube, kidneys shutting down, weeks in the ICU. Recovering, another crisis hit late August and he was not expected to survive the night. God led and ordained his current amazing progress as he is in a rehab facility.

The first crisis time brought the following insights. To save his life, kidney dialysis was begun at his bedside. I had been keeping vigil there for days.

As I watched my brothers blood, with its toxic wastes flowing out via a catheter tube, filtered, washed cleaned, and returned to restore his body, I was immediately at the foot of the Cross. I laid my hands on the dialysis machine where my brother’s blood was being renewed. I prayed the healing blood of Jesus into him.

Our redemption, via Christ’s shed blood on the Cross, removed sin’s toxins from our being, bringing a means to be reconciled to Him. We can live each moment of our days with fresh infilling of his spirit’s breath of life.

Fresh oxygen filled my brother’s blood and the toxins extracted remained trapped in a hazardous waste receptacle. Spiritually, our sins are forgiven, gone. We arise with new life, healed and whole to live out our days.

I remain in awe that God allows man to create miracle means to save human lives. I ponder what means renew my own life, in spite of chronic challenges. How about you? What personal God-renewal restores you?

Prayer: Father, Creator God. I am filled anew with gratefulness for Your redemption on the Cross to set me free. For the work You have done in delivering my brother’s life, I give thanks, as well. Amen.

About the Author:
Lynn Severance is a retired elementary classroom teacher. Since 1983, she has lived with vestibular dysfunction: constant dizziness, sessions of vertigo and related side effects of nausea, balance problems, neck and back pain, visual tracking and eye fatigue. She is a breast cancer survivor having gone through surgery and chemotherapy treatments in 1987-88. She lives in Lynnwood, Washington. Do visit her blog at http://lynn-severance.blogspot.com

Have you personally experienced God’s intervention in a hospital setting that saved your life? Share that impact with us, if you can. How has the miracle of Christ’s shed blood, for your salvation, personally changed how you live your daily life?

Lynn shares, “Thank you to our devotional writer, Vicki Chandler who introduced me to “Scripture Lullabies” at http://www.scripture-lullabies.com. This selection reminds me that, with God, nothing is impossible. He makes all things new as we journey, with Him, through the crisis of life. -Lynn

2 thoughts on “A Medical Procedure Can Mirror Christ’s Healing Victory

    • Thank you, Shelly. It was an amazing experience to receive this insight in the midst of a most emotional time. God, somewhat, took me outside of the emotions I was having to help pour this message into me. It is my joy to be able to pass it along.

      Hugs to you –
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

