Getting Back to a Routine Without Pushing too Hard

routineHow do you return to a routine when your body tells you to slow down. Laura shares.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken.” (Psalm 55:22)

I went to a class where I stood for an extended period of time–something I hadn’t done in years. I had to lean and hold on to the wall occasionally, but I mostly stood. The next day I cleaned my floors before carting my daughter to church to perform service hours. I proceeded to down migraine medicine as I was feeing pressure building in my head. Then I was off to lead a HopeKeepers’ meeting.

Afterwards, there were more tasks performed, before finally sitting down around 8 p.m. to watch a hockey game. I then physically crashed–hard. For the next two days I slept, stayed under warm blankets, drank fluids and tried stabilizing my body.

And it was my fault. I did very little pacing in the three weeks since undergoing pacemaker surgery to assist with bradycardia from dysautonomia. I find it ironic I have an instrument called a pacemaker inside of me but at times I am terrible at pacing myself! I wish pacemakers came with instant body pacing, not just for the heart. I tested the limits of my body and lost. I was exploring whether my body would still crash. It does.

I was forced to regroup. While driving the kids to school I said a prayer, thanked God for the beautiful day, and asked Him to protect my children. My son and I got back in our routine. We sat in a parking lot during the ten-minute gap between his school starting time and his sister’s, and chose between imprinted stones: blessed, loved, and strength. We created a prayer to go with our chosen stone and afterwards headed for school.

Yes, life is getting back to normal; to routines; to remembering to include God in each day. Pacing is slowly beginning again.

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for giving me free will. While sometimes I make the wrong decisions, You are always there when I find my way back to you in prayer. Help me to continue to see that opening my heart and mind to you allows everything to go more smoothly. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three children. She is a retired elementary school counselor who discovered her love of writing about 35 years ago. Laura is the disability/chronic illness advocate for her church and also enjoys running a HopeKeepers group. She is writing a book about her illness, dysautonomia: the deregulation of the autonomic nervous system. She had a pacemaker implanted on 10/9/13 as a result of dysautonomia slowing her heart rate.

How do you pace yourself when you have been really ill and are now just a bit ill and yet have so much to do? How do you get back to a routine without overdoing?

As Laura shared above, God offers us so much grace when we get in over our head! I thought you may enjoy this song by Laura Story (she is the one who sings “Blessings” that you may love). This is simply called “Grace.” -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Getting Back to a Routine Without Pushing too Hard

  1. Oh, wow, Laura, if you do find a pacemaker that helps us to pace our bodies, please let me know!! 😉 That would be wonderful. I’m so glad that you’re easing your way back into a routine now that your surgery is over. Great devo, thanks for sharing such encouraging thoughts!

Leave a Reply

