Where Is Your Pilgrimage Leading You?

pilgrimageIs life a race to the end or a pilgrimage along the way? Diane asks you to consider the journey.

“Blessed are those whose strength is in You, whose hearts are set on pilgrimage.” (Psalms 84:5)

As I read this many thoughts came to my mind; In November, I always think of thanksgiving when I was a child; we would travel to Alabama be with relatives. They lived in the woods, where we would play; their house had many interesting places to hide for Hide and Seek. So much laughter and joy was shared!

Now my children and friends, make the pilgrimage to my house, where we share that same love.

But today I ask myself and you, where is your pilgrimage taking you? Is your heart so focused on getting to where you want to be, out of your present circumstances, out of pain and illness, that you forget to allow God to be the focus and most important part of the journey?

I believe we each live our lives as a pilgrimage towards something. It can be many places or things, but where do you gain strength for that journey? What is your heart set on? Is it to just get to the end? Or is it to enjoy the passage and make the most of it? Ask yourself, where is my pilgrimage leading? Am I including God; choosing to live joyously (even in illness); Overflowing with love, just as a cool spring in the woods flows upon the rocks?

I pray that each of us, no matter our circumstances, will set our hearts on such a pilgrimage.

Prayer: Father, I pray that You will fill our hearts with desire not to just get to the end of our journey but to let it be fulfilling both for us and those we encounter on the way. Let us always choose to include You in that pilgrimage and be a spring of truth and love for You. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as a chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art and writing as well. She is a colon cancer survivor, but deals with chronic digestive illness and pain; her greatest joy is encouraging and sharing with others what God has done in her life and continues to do.

How about you, what memories do you have of a pilgrimage as a child? Where is your pilgrimage leading you now? Is God an intricate part of that or are you just trying to get to the destination?

Kathy Troccoli holds a special place in my heart because when I was 23–the year before RA set in–there were many unknowns (I had no idea there would be even more the next year when a diagnosis came!) I listened to her CD over and over, which included this song, “My Life is In Your Hands,” while working at a Christian bookstore in Carlsbad, CA and this song was a constant reminder that my life was in God’s hands. I hope it touches you and the lyrics remind you that despite the unknown journey you are on, it is not unknown to Him -Lisa

Leave a Reply

