How to Endure a Long Night When You Can’t Sleep

NIGHTWhen insomnia or pain hits, how do you get through those long nights? Bridget has some practical advice you won’t find on the back of a bottle.

“By day the Lord directs His love, at night his song is with me–a prayer to the God of my life.” (Psalm 42:8)

As I lay there trying to sleep, I begin to notice the pain. I try to ignore it, but it seems to get worse with each lonely second. The darkness around me only adds to the pain. I look at the clock every half hour hoping it will be one hour closer to the morning, but it isn’t.

No doubt about it–nighttime is hard! I don’t know many chronically ill people who don’t struggle with pain and insomnia at night. So, just how do we get through nights like this?

The first thing we need to do is be in the Word during the day. When we make Scripture an important part of our lives by meditating on it and memorizing it, encouraging and comforting Words will come to us in the night–just when we need them.

Praise songs also play a huge part in enduring long nights. When we fill our minds and ears with praise songs we can sing those songs in our hearts at night. Nothing takes the chill off a dark night like singing praise songs–they do miracles at refreshing your soul.

The last but most important thing we can do during those long evenings–is to pray. As soon as I start to pray, my tension melts away. Sometimes my pain doesn’t go away during the night–but I may fall asleep quicker. I might not ever get to sleep, but I may end up praying for my friends and family.

There are definitely some things we can do when it seems like darkness is all we see. God is with us and He will endure those long hours with us. I hope you’re encouraged to spend more time in the Word, in prayer, and singing to the Lord!

Prayer: Dear God, You know exactly how long some nights are for me. Please help me to meditate on Your Word so when I need encouragement the Scripture You have for me at that moment will come to mind. Thank you for being with me always! Amen.

About the Author
Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, and migraines. She works full time but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Bridget’s prayer is that anyone who comes across her writing or artwork would see she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” Find out more about Bridget at, http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

What Scripture or songs has God brought to your mind during the night?

If you are having difficulties falling asleep you may find comfort in the Scripture Lullabies. Here is one, “Be Still and Know” with peaceful songs and scriptures put to music that will help you drift off (at least we hope so!). -Lisa

3 thoughts on “How to Endure a Long Night When You Can’t Sleep

    • There are so very many of us who suffer alone not knowing that God is waiting to give us peace,comfort and only the LOVE He can give us freely. Thank you for your message/prayer.

Leave a Reply

