Crying Out to God–Sooner or Later?

cry-outAt what point do you cry out to God? Soon, or after you have tried other comforts? Laura shares.

“Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am in distress; my eyes grow weak with sorrow, my soul and body with grief. My life is consumed by anguish and my years by groaning; my strength fails because of my affliction, and my bones grow weak. (Psalm 31: 9-10)

I crumbled to the floor in utter frustration, sadness and exhaustion. I cried out loud “God, help me.”

I was hoping something great would happen like the earth would open up and God would present Himself, taking away all my pain. But instead my room was silent, nose stuffed, eyes red and sore from crying. I looked around to more frustration–dust balls under my bed and dressers. I could choose to clean my room, I thought, but this was part of the problem, as I was feeling overwhelmed at all that needed to be accomplished.

If I skipped cleaning I could get out on my road bike, something I rediscovered recently while becoming a bit rebellious while awaiting surgery. I used to ride my bike 10-15 miles at a clip, but dysautonomia stole that joy. For the last 14 months, I have been pedaling nowhere on my stationary bike. It produces little of the exhilarating feelings of a road bike, but it serves a purpose; exercise and some strength lost from my illness.

I think a combination of perfect temperatures, motivation, a rebel spirit, and the pure grace of God is what got me back on my bike. I knew I could ride a mile, but never expected to last the five that I have accomplished. I stay close to home, use safety precautions and once symptoms begin–which I am very aware of–the ride ends.

So I decided to skip cleaning the dust balls and go for the ride. Perhaps that decision was God’s way of helping me relieve my distress; making a good choice instead of getting bogged down with chores. The dust will still be there; the ride, who knows?

But before biking, something occurred to me. I was searching, hoping someone would call and cheer me up. That is not necessary, I realized, as I have the greatest friend always in the Lord. So I opened one of my daily devotionals and this is what I found:

“When many things seem to be going wrong, trust Me. When your life feels increasingly out of control, thank Me. These are supernatural responses, and they can lift you above your circumstances . . .Cry out to Me in My name! Affirm your trust in Me regardless of how you feel.” (from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young).

I oftentimes forget to call out to the Lord first when most troubled. When I finally seek Him, He always comforts my soul and brings me His peace.

Prayer: Dear Lord, You are such a great comfort. Thank You for helping me to understand that relying on You provides such a blessing and peace. Help me to remember to seek You first. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She retired from her job as an elementary school counselor in 2012. She is writing a book about her struggles with dysautonomia–a neurological condition in which the autonomic nervous system malfunctions, affected such things as blood pressure, heart rate, breathing and temperature regulation. October is dysautonomia awareness month.

How do you remember to call on God for assistance in your life?

This video is by a group called Unspoken and they sing “Lift My Life Up.” I really loved the lyrics in this song as it speaks of just surrendering ourselves over to whatever God has planned. It may not be what we’d hoped for, and yet at the same time it may be a bigger blessing than we ever could have imagined. It takes time. Blessings don’t always show themselves when you are in the middle of the struggle, but when we consider how God wants to use us, I think we find that lifting our life up to Him is the first step. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

