How Does God Feel When His Children Are Suffering?

sufferingIt can be easy to wonder if God really cares about our tears. Shelly reminds us how much He does.

“Record my misery; list my tears on your scroll—are they not in Your record? (Psalm 56:8)

This week my kids were sick. Oh it wasn’t anything major (although it has been in the past, and my son suffers from a chronic illness of his own), just a tummy bug. But as any of you who are parents, grandparents, aunties, uncles, godparents, or just love a child like your own know, watching your children suffering in any way is the worst!

My myriad of issues, problems and complaints fade into insignificance. My troubles pale in comparison to not being able to wrap up my child and make it all better. That’s our job, right? And when we are unable to do anything but try to soothe and comfort them, it just feels miserable.

The day that my kids were able to return to school, I was reflecting on how grateful I was that they were finally feeling better again. Their color was good, their fevers were gone. Their smiles were bright and in place. All seemed right with the world.

And that’s when the Spirit reminded me that God feels the same way when He sees my tears as I do when my own children are suffering. I am touched by the New Living Translation of this verse, which reads, “You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.”

He longs to make it all better, but sometimes all He can do is soothe and comfort, cuddle and reassure. And He waits for the moment when my eyes shine again, as bright as my smile.

What a tender feeling this gives me. What a matchless gift, this adoption we have been given. Our Father loves us, He nurtures us, and He always, always cares.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me never to forget that you feel just as tenderly and protective toward me as I do toward my own children. Keep me assured that You do care, very deeply, when your children are suffering. Thank you just doesn’t seem like enough. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What have you experienced with your children lately that reminded you of God’s tender care toward you?

Have you ever asked, “Does Jesus Care?” This is the name of this song by the Isaacs that Shelly thought you may like. It is one of those songs that grips you and you may want to turn to on a difficult day. -Lisa

One thought on “How Does God Feel When His Children Are Suffering?

  1. Pingback: How Does God Feel When His Children Are Suffering? | Renewed Daily

Leave a Reply

