Do You Feel All Alone in Your Pain?

all-aloneIllness is isolating so how can God help us overcome feelings of being all alone? Vicki shares.

“Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted. Relieve the troubles of my heart and free me from my anguish. Look on my affliction and my distress” (Psalm 25:16-18).

Who can stand the sight of a homeless orphan child living in filth? K.P. Yohannan, President of Gospel for Asia, vomited at the stench in the slums of Mumbai–a place where children played. Gospel for Asia’s website states, “Calcutta alone is home to more than 100,000 street children who know neither mother nor father, love nor care.”

Do you have insight into such abandonment? Do you feel all alone, shut in with no one to care for you? You cling to your belief that there’s a God who cares for you, but wish He’d send someone to show His love.

Reflecting on His love can help fill that lonely void. Picture Him watching over you as He watches over each sparrow. Close your eyes and see Him carrying you as a loving shepherd carries his lost sheep. Think it won’t work?

When I taught second graders, I wanted them to understand the miraculous crossing of the Red Sea. I told the eight-year olds to close their eyes. Like a narrator of a movie, I described the scene.

“Look in front. Do you see the water? Now, turn around in your mind. Do you see the approaching enemy chariots?”

“Yes,” came the collective reply. Their response filled with fear, telling me they felt the danger.

“Watch Moses as he puts his staff into the water. Do you see God opening the water? It’s like two walls swirling around. Start walking into the path on the dry ground. What do you see?”

“Shells.” “Fish rolling around like in a dryer.”

“Do you hear children?” I asked.

“I hear crying.” “I hear someone saying, ‘Wait for me!’”

“What are the expressions on the faces of the children as they step ashore?”

“Smiles.”

When they opened their eyes, their faces glowed with amazement, as if they just witnessed the miracle firsthand. You can do that same thing. Imagine God with you each minute of the day. Can you feel His presence?

We know “He will deliver the needy who cry out, the afflicted who have no one to help”(Psalm 72:12).

Prayer: Dear Father, Thank You for the promise in Romans 8:38-39 that nothing can separate us from Your love—not even our pain or illness. Send someone as a messenger of Your love. Until then, help me sense Your presence. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 31 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net. Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

If you’re alone, how has God revealed His love to you?

Do you need an upbeat song today that will inspire you? I like this video called “Run” with Sanctus Real. This particular video has the lyrics on the screen and has a nice colorful graphic. The song is about how we are not on our own in this life, but we need to run (run, run) into the arms of love. I like how even though it speaks of life being hard, it’s the kind of song that you could do some dishes to and feel hopeful, not sad. Hoping you find it blesses you today–or even another day. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Do You Feel All Alone in Your Pain?

  1. Dear Shelly,
    I, too, love to feel like a little child! Love to wonder and imagine.
    I’m certain Jesus sees the little child in us.
    I’ll “hold the mental images close to my heart” of Christ embracing the little children who came to Him and picture me among them!
    Be blessed today,
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

