Are Moving Forward in Obedience Even When in Pain?

movingMoving forward when it pain is always hard, but Elizabeth shares what an important choice it is.

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.” (John 4:23)
“But the world must learn that I love the Father and that I do exactly what My Father has commanded Me. Come; now let us leave.” (John 14:31)

In my King James Version it says, “Come let us go hence” which has a more forward motion to it in my mind. After hearing a preacher comment on the verse I wrote in the sidelines “in obedience.” This brings the mind back to Jesus accepting the unpleasant events He knew were ahead and focusing on His role to do what the Father wanted done, not His own plan. Obedience trumped will.

Moving. That word alone carries more than meets the eye when we live with chronic illness and pain. For some, every move hurts. Others have a long, and sometimes, specifically detailed list of moves they can or cannot make. Here in today’s verse I am seeing a spiritual move being called for more than the physical change of location.

The setting that this verse takes place in brings to mind God’s call for us to go where we would rather not. I can take courage in the Savior’s example here, pushing forward for only one reason. Our Father said so.

Nothing mattered to Jesus more than God’s Glory, it was all He really cared about. He put it over physical comfort, above His own logic and desires, and He valued obedience to be more important than any of these other things. Heeding this example is about the only way I can cope with the rough stuff in life. To just ask for the grace and power to move forward in obedience is the only hope we have to survive this journey. I can’t do it for my own good, or even for the sake of my loved ones–my sole motivation has to be His agenda.

If I can do this, if we can do this, then the pain and illness become a very small thing indeed. The Lord will have more rule over my life, and that means a better life, even if illness and pain are a part of it.

Prayer: Father, I raise up an offering to You. Please take my own ideas and plans and replace them in my heart with Your plans. Be right here next to me Lord, as we move forward together, in obedience. Amen.

About the author:
Elizabeth Vendley is the wife of David, and lives in North Central Michigan. They have raised seven children. Elizabeth has lived with severe Interstitial Cystitis since 1996. Her passion is glorifying the Lord by writing out the lessons He has taught her. She would love to hear from readers through the Sunroom. Elizabeth welcomes readers to see her musings and gleanings in her blog http://evendley.blogspot.com/.

Are you holding back any of your own desires and agendas? What do you need to get beyond your own lists? Can the Lord provide this for you?

Sometimes moving means walking away from something, like the life we have been living or the attitude we have claimed. It can mean different things to all of us and at different seasons in our life. If there is anything in your life at all you think you should be walking away from you will like this song by Unspoken, “Walking Away.”

One thought on “Are Moving Forward in Obedience Even When in Pain?

Leave a Reply

