How Do We Cope When All Around Us Seems Like Rubble?

rubbleWhen the pile of rocks and rubble seem overwhelming in life, where do you turn for strength to move forward? Fiona shares.

“Meanwhile, the people in Judah said, ‘The strength of the laborers is giving out, and there is so much rubble that we cannot rebuild the wall.'” (Nehemiah 4:10)

Recently, my mother ended up in hospital after a stroke. I’d already been in a bad way physically for a month or so and life seemed harder than usual. Now I was in the middle of circumstances not about me, but needing my energy and attention. Added to how I’d been feeling, were feelings of shock, stress, and exhaustion.

For those of us with chronic illness, another shock or stressful situation on top of what we live with normally, can seem so much worse than it might for a healthy person. I already feel pretty useless when it comes to what I can “do” for others, so when some family emergency happens, those feelings of uselessness increase.

In Nehemiah, the people who were rebuilding the wall were feeling the weight of opposition and the job ahead of them seemed bigger than they could accomplish. There was so much rubble in their way.

Like in this last week, I can really identify with the feeling that “there is so much rubble” that can make life seem too difficult to get through. The rubble seems overwhelming. How can I be there for my parents, yet still look after myself?

What I need to remember (sometimes it seems I need to remember it over and over), is that I’m not doing this alone. There’ve been many people praying for my Mum and my family and we have felt the support of those prayers. I’ve done far more than I’d be capable of doing most of the time –even if it was tiring. But as Nehemiah tells the people to remember in verse 14, “remember the Lord who is great and awesome’ and then in verse 20, “Our God will fight for us!.”

For them the task ahead of rebuilding the wall seemed too hard, but when they did it with God’s help and were able to stand up to their enemies because God was fighting with them, the wall was rebuilt. So too, with God’s help, I can be useful–even if only in minor ways. God doesn’t ever see me as useless and with His help, I can cope–even amidst the rubble.

Prayer: Father, help me to see You, instead of the rubble that can seem overwhelming in my life and remind me You are greater than any obstacle. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Have there been times when “the rubble” seemed overwhelming? What got you through and helped you get up to fight again each day?

Just when we start to wonder where God is in the midst of our chaos and desperation, we can be reminded that He is right in the middle of it all. In this song artist Chris August sings “Center Of It.” God is always there at the center of everything. -Lisa

5 thoughts on “How Do We Cope When All Around Us Seems Like Rubble?

  1. Fiona, Wow! I can’t believe I’ve never really seen that verse before. I’m sure I read it, but it never really registered with me. But oh, how I can relate to the rubble! Thank you so much for this study and the encouragement! Praying God’s blessings on you this week!

  2. Dear Fiona, I posted the following on the RM page, but know you’re having trouble with it there, so will copy & paste it here too for you:

    Fiona, what a great verse to use with your devotional. I can soooo relate to the “rubble” & loved the connection to what happens in Nehemiah. It really encouraged & helped me today, so thank you dear friend. I think I need to spend more time reading through that passage of scripture & pondering it.

    Prayers continue for healing for your dear Mum. Gentle hugs ♥ Lotsoluv Kerryn

  3. Fiona – such a good devotional. It always amazes me – even after so many experiences with God helping me – that when He said “His strength is sufficient”, He really meant it.

    During such times as you experienced with your mum, your having to rise above your own physical challenges, it is something to literally know that only God is doing that work for us and through us as we help another.

    For sure, He gets the glory.

    Thanks!
    Love,
    Lynn

  4. Shelly, I was sitting in Church last week and where we are doing a series on Nehemiah. The Pastor was preaching on something else, but that verse seemed just for me, in my rubble.

    Kerryn, yes, I think many of us can probably see times when we’ve been surrounded by rubble. I’d spent a bit of time in Nehemiah even before we started this series, and God has spoken through a number of passages. Glad you were encouraged 🙂

    Lynn, I’m amazed we don’t always get that either – God’s come through so many times for us.
    I know you’re experiencing that knowledge that only God is getting you through, with your family at present too. We’d be so lost without Him!

    Thanks for your comments and for your prayers 🙂
    Blessings, Fiona

Leave a Reply

