A Fall That Was A Wake-up Call

fallIt is always scary when you fall, but Fiona shares how it also gave her time to reflect.

“When I said, ‘My foot is slipping,’ Your love, O Lord, supported me.” (Psalm 94:18)

It had been a tough week or so. I was experiencing extra pain to the usual and even with treatment, it was taking time to settle down. As often happens, we had no idea what had caused it to flare up as it had.

The days went by and the pain stuck around, I got more tired and depressed about it–especially about the things I’d hoped or planned to do, and was seeing each day go by without achieving anything.

The sun was out, so I walked outside my unit and decided I’d just pick up a few fallen camellias–then the place wouldn’t look quite so uncared for. I’d not been that sure on my feet for days, but one slip from a step, found me falling backwards and landing on my head and back–pretty hard!

I lay there, taking note of what hurt and if I could move, thinking how stupid I’d been. Then as I became aware of where I landed, I stopped and gave thanks that it had been on the grass I landed, not on the concrete path, the garden edge, or even the rose bushes in the garden. This could have been so much worse.

It even occurred to me that had it been worse, I could have lain there for ages before anyone even noticed me, or came to help. Surely God was watching over me–and this was reminding me that He always does!

I may not have cried out as in the Psalm above, but God was still supporting me–even though I’d fallen, I was not hurt too badly.

There had been people praying for me, knowing I was experiencing more pain than usual and I’d been encouraged to know people cared that my life was tough just then. But had I been so focused on the pain and the fact it was worse than usual that I’d stopped giving thanks for God’s presence and protection for me?

I know God doesn’t always prevent us from being hurt, but this fall reminded me that I needed to wake up to the knowledge that God cares. He understands my frustration and He’s always there to comfort me, no matter what happens.

Prayer: Thank You, Father, for how much You care for me. Help me to never lose sight of that, but to trust You more each day. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Have you had times when you become overwhelmed with your circumstances and forget how much God cares? What ways has God used to wake you up?

Living day to day with a chronic illness can make it easy to slip into just surviving, instead of thinking about God’s goodness or His plans for our life beyond the next doctors appointment. I love this song, “The Motions” with Matthew West as he sings about how even though it is going to hurt sometimes he still wants to do something for God. He wants to make a difference somehow. I hope it blesses you. ~Lisa

5 thoughts on “A Fall That Was A Wake-up Call

    • Thanks Shelly – I am getting over the fall and taking a bit more care when walking! Glad the reminder came at a time that blessed you. 🙂

  1. Oh Fiona, I remember the timing of that fall & the timing of the verse above!! God surely is GOOD & looking after you. So great that you could acknowledge the Lord & His protection, when often the focus is on me, me, ME!!

    Take care dear friend. Praying your body is recovering back to “normal” for you. I know that “normal” is not normal for others, but it’s the normal we know & can manage. Gentle hugs ♥ Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • Yes Kerryn, thanks for sending the verse at just the right time! Those verses are a blessing and God’s timing is special.
      I’m not sure I wasn’t still thinking about “me” – but as is happening now, I know God is making a difference in what could be a whole lot worse – I just need to remember it.
      Bless you friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

