Can God Really Delight In Us?

Too often we feel like we are disappointing God, but our new devotional writers, Shelly, reminds us that He delights in us.

“The Lord delights in those who fear Him, who put their hope in His unfailing love.” (Psalm 147:11)

To delight literally means “to have a high degree of pleasure, joy, satisfaction or enjoyment; rapture; to please highly.”

His delight is in me.

Me. Sinful, broken, weary, questioning, high-maintenance child that I am. He delights in me. Me.

Not because I have good days, not because I can fix supper for my family today, not because I actually had the energy to shower.

Not because I can find the right words in my foggy brain, not because my pain pill is working and I can walk instead of using my wheelchair, not because my fingers could button up my shirt today.

Because I fear Him, I seek Him, I honor Him, and I desire Him. I acknowledge Him as my Lord. Therefore, He delights in me. Me.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

Me. Even damaged, diminished, imperfect, doubting child that I am. He delights in me. Me. Even when I have bad days, even when I can’t prepare a meal for my family, even when I don’t have the energy to shower.

Even when I can’t find the words in my foggy brain, even when my pain pill isn’t working and I need to use my wheelchair, even when my fingers can’t button up my shirt. Because I walk with Him, I give over to Him, I bow to Him, and I love Him. I acknowledge that His ways are higher. Therefore, He delights in me. Me.

And He delights in you

Prayer: Father God, Thank You for all that You are and all that You do. Thank You for delighting in me unconditionally! In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Welcome our new writer!
Shelly is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What obstacle will you remind yourself that God delights in you through today?

Casting Crowns is one of my favorite groups so when Shelly suggested this song, “Who am I?” I knew it would speak to you. They lyrics are about how God loves us, not because of who we are or what we’ve accomplished, but because of who He is! And God will never change. Isn’t that reassuring. I hope you enjoy today’s video. `Lisa

8 thoughts on “Can God Really Delight In Us?

  1. welcome! i just wanted to say how much i loved your first devotional!! it encouraged me so much. its funny bc yesterday i was just talking in my illness support group about this very thing, but in the opposite. i was having a hard time bc i wish i could do more, not just for myself but for others, for God. i asked others how they dealt with this but i have to say your answer is so spot on and just in time! God is so good that wat isn’t He?? 🙂 i will def be sharing this with them today, bc i know im not alone in feeling this way. thanks for this great encouragment! i look forward to reading many more devotionals from you! God bless!!

    • Joy, thank you so much for the welcome and your sweet words of encouragement! They are a balm to my soul, truly! Isn’t it amazing the way that God shows us just the right thing, in just the right way, at just the right time? I just love when He does that, and the fact that He would use me in that, in even the smallest way, is so humbling! God bless you, and please pass my blessing on to those in your group as well…. will be lifting you all in prayer this weekend! ❤ Shelly

  2. Shelly, welcome to the team!

    I appreciate the delightful way you expressed this message for us.
    Believing that God delights in me is a very hard concept for me to grasp.
    Perhaps that is the problem – it is more than a “concept”. It is a reality.
    Your words help me this day and your devotional will go into my daily journal for inspiration now and in days to come!

    Blessings – keep writing!
    Lynn

  3. Shelly, loved this how you reminded us how God delights in us. Too often I feel like He is putting up with me, sighing in resignation, and yet loving me. But delight…? We tend to think we have to do something to really EARN the delight. It is always a nice reminder to know that He delights in us because He made us.

  4. Pingback: Delight Yourself in the Lord | Whispers From the Father

  5. Pingback: Delight In The Lord | journeybits

Leave a Reply

