When You Stumble, God is There Holding Your Hand

Illness can threaten our courage but Bridget explains how God is holding your hand.

“If the Lord delights in a man’s way, He makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” (Psalm 37:23-24)

I love watching babies learn to walk. They are hesitant to take that first step but as soon as someone nearby grabs their hand they can walk around the room–and then some! All it takes is the strength of the hand holding them up and they can do it. Sometimes the adult hand is hardly even grabbing the baby’s hand, but just knowing that hand is there gives them the courage to go on.

I have to admit there are days where I feel I have no courage left. I don’t know how I will take that next step. I feel so alone and misunderstood.

But then I am reminded through Scripture that God is with me always. He will lift me up. Another Bible version says Psalm 37:23-24 this way, “A man’s steps are established by the Lord, and He takes pleasure in his way. Though he falls, he will not be overwhelmed, because the Lord holds his hand” (Holman Christian Standard Bible).

What a great reminder that it’s God who establishes my steps (or lack thereof). God takes pleasure in my life and has a purpose for it–however limited I may feel my life is. And even though I may fall (and I do), I will not be overwhelmed because God holds my hand. Wow!

Loneliness often accompanies my pain; the thought of God holding my hand during my lowest times is encouraging. Almost instantly I don’t feel so alone anymore and the courage I was lacking rises to the surface. I can go on because I have His strength upon which to lean.

It’s God who is holding me up and keeping me from falling. Amazing! I pray this lifts your spirit today!

Prayer: Dear God, thank you so much for holding my hand during my darkest moments and for giving me the courage to go one more step, to go one more moment! Amen.

About the Author
Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, and migraines. She works full time but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Bridget’s prayer is that anyone who comes across her writing or artwork would see she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” Find out more about Bridget at, http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

How has God encouraged you today? Do you ever feel like He is holding your hand?

Have you felt God ask you to take a step forward, to do something based not on logic, but because He asked and you responded to the call? When we know He is holding our hand anything is possible. This is Royal Tailor is singing “Freefall.” I think you will like the lyrics. -Lisa

3 thoughts on “When You Stumble, God is There Holding Your Hand

  1. Pingback: Holding Hands | God Speaking

Leave a Reply

