How God Surprises Us When We are Overwhelmed with Disappointments

Disappointments about missing out on a longed for outing, Kerryn is given a surprise by God.

“So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living thing with which the water teems and that moves about in it, according to their kinds, and every winged bird according to its kind. And God saw that it was good” (Genesis 1:21).

Being at a friend’s beach house creates so very many opportunities to do a myriad of great things. Years ago I’d be here and love to wander the beach, look for seashells, fly kites, go to a beach cafe for a cuppa and chat with my hubby, ride on a horse-drawn tram to visit the penguins, fossick through craft shops and so many other joys (which means to rummage or search around in Australian).

Now being here comes with the reminder that those things are not possible, due to illnesses.

All I wanted to do, when I finally woke in the afternoon was to go to the beach. After all, it’s only a two-minute walk! Exhausted after making breakfast, I realized that the simple joy of going to the beach was not going to happen–again. I’d hoped energy might arise for the past three days, but even being driven to the beach was out of my league.

Feeling emotion welling up, I quietly removed myself from the family to collapse on my bed in tears. I knew I was so very privileged to have those stunning sea views and a loving family around me. Yet the grief was sudden and overwhelming at the loss of the simple things in life that everyone takes for granted.

Sobbing quietly on the bed, all I could pray was the groaning of a broken heart. . . but I knew that God understood.

Within minutes my husband gently knocked and came in. I thought that he was coming in to comfort me, having noticed how I was feeling. Never in a million years could I have guessed what he would say next!

“Do you want to see some whales in the bay?”

What?! Was he joking?

Sure enough, right from the windows of the lounge, we could see whales frolicking and leaping through the waters out at sea! This was a sight none of our family had ever seen before! It was truly amazing to witness these mammoth creatures twisting and leaping.

God’s generosity and timing completely blew me away. In a moment I’d moved from tears of grief to squeals of joy! I’d felt completely forgotten and abandoned to suddenly blessed and loved.

This was such a reminder that I can’t trust my feelings, but I can trust God to know my feelings. It also reminded me that I can miss those wonderful moments of blessings that are there for me, if I stay hidden in my room in tears.

I know God heard my cries that day. He placed the most magnificent creatures there for me to enjoy. God saw that it was good. I saw that it was good too!

Prayer: Lord, thank You for Your amazing creation. Magnificently huge creatures leapt for joy and it was good. Thank You for blessing me with surprises when I least expected it. Help me to look out for Your surprises and see the goodness in them. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What surprises has God given you through His creation? Are there other ways to enjoy God’s creation, despite illness keeping you indoors?

This is Yolanda Adams singing “Open My Heart.” The lyrics describe how she is sitting in her room, calling out to God, feeling lonely and as though her dreams and hopes are burning out. Yet, she prays and asks God to open her heart to whatever He wishes. How often we must do this–daily even–just as Kerryn did in her room, so desiring to see what was beyond those 4 walls. I hope it blesses you today. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How God Surprises Us When We are Overwhelmed with Disappointments

  1. Tears filled my eyes as I related so deeply to both sides of your story! My much–needed surprise came when I was asked to join the writers here at Rest Ministries on one of the lowest days in my lowest week. So thankful for a God who knows and answers us so intimately. Thank you for this so today! Heart Hugs, Shelly

  2. I’m so delighted to read your words Shelly! How wonderful that my experiences spoke to you. Praise God for His ways of connecting us through all He does for us in our lives.

    Welcome to the RM devotional writers team. It’s a lovely team of writers that I feel very privileged to be a part of. I’m looking forward to getting to know you Shelly. ♥♥

    Like you, I was at a VERY low time in my life when my devotionals were accepted & I was welcomed into the team with open arms. What a joy that God uses us to minister from our beds, recliners, wheel chairs etc. Gentle hugs to you. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  3. Beautiful devotional Kerryn! What a wonderful way for God to remind you He cares so personally for you – and you know I love whales!! Experiencing the beauty of God’s creation has blessed me so many times, drawing me closer to God and sensing the awesome wonder of diverstity He’s given us to enjoy.
    Blessings, Fiona

    • Thanks dear Fiona. Yes, it was REALLY special. I keep re-reading it to re-live the joy of that day. God knew His creation “was good” …..but what a little word it was to describe it! How about amazing or impressive or stunning…..no He humbly says “good!” LOL! God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

