Moments Like These Become a Life

How do the little moments make a difference in your life? Fiona shares.

“Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.” (Psalm 9:10)

The Message translation says, “The moment you arrive, you relax; you’re never sorry you knocked.”

There’s a slogan used to advertise one of the lollies I grew up with. When traveling we would often have Minties in the car to chew on, when on steep, or windy roads. They taste great, yet as I’ve got older and have more problems with my teeth, I wouldn’t probably choose to eat them now as they’re good at pulling out fillings, or teeth!

The slogan that comes on Minties, is “it’s moments like these, you need Minties!” The wrappers are adorned with cute pictures of people needing Minties for whatever they are going through. It seems Minties can fix anything.

Another great thing about Mintie wrappers was that you could compete to see who could tear the wrapper into the longest continual strip–something that’s kept many amused for hours–till it tears.

I’d been thinking about moments in light of the song, “Be Unto Your Name”* that talks about how we are only a moment–small in comparison to God and also minute in the span of life that God sees.

We have good and bad moments in our days–and when you are dealing with chronic illness, sometimes those bad moments can seem endless and the end of the day so far away.

Those moments of pain, struggle, our current challenges–no matter how long we may have to deal with them, or struggle to get through them–they are only a moment in God’s timing, in the bigger picture He sees in His plan for our lives.

Maybe I need to view my moments differently. Even if it’s more than 25 years of chronic pain, if it’s only a moment–I can get through this, can’t I? I know I can’t do it on my own, but rather than needing Minties for “moments like these” I need God to help me through this moment, and the next one, and the next one.

This is only a moment. It too will pass. One day I’ll have no more pain and God sees that moment now as if it’s so close. I’ve just got to keep on seeking and trusting Him for each moment.

Prayer: Father, thank You that in “moments like these”, all I ever need is You. Take my moments and my days. Amen.

* Be Unto Your Name – Lynn DeChazo & Gary Sadler
Integrity’s Hosanna Music 1998

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do you think viewing each challenge as only one moment–that will pass–will help you? Does knowing God’s view is different to yours, help or hinder your attitude?

Are you having difficulty finding ven some little things to be thankful for? We’ve all been there at times. This song, “Sweetly Broken” Is by Jeremy Riddle and it sings of how Jesus was “sweetly broken” and how we are given that same journey in our life. Take a moment to sit back and click “play” and enjoy a moment if worship. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Moments Like These Become a Life

  1. What a beautiful reminder! So often I pray not one day at a time, but one moment at a time! This is a perfect explanation of why…. who else could possibly get me through my moments? Thank you!

    • Thanks for your comment – yes, only with God can we face getting through the next moment, I’d be lost without Him. 🙂
      Blessings, Fiona

Leave a Reply

