Is Hope is Overrated When We Are Ill?

Hope can lead to disappointments, but if we stop hoping we are no different than those who don’t know Jesus. Lisa shares.
“Yet when I hoped for good, evil came; when I looked for light, then came darkness.” (Job 30:26)

Since I began Rest Ministries seventeen years ago, and then HopeKeepers groups, I have collected signs that say HOPE. (Have you noticed signs that say REST are hard to find?) I have collection of signs all over my home that say “hope.”

One day my mom asked my son, “Do you think your mom needs more hope signs?”
“No,” he replied.
“What does she need more of?”
“Faith!”

Yes, there are seasons in our life when we need to put some hopes aside and instead focus on our faith that God is going to work it all out exactly how it is meant to be. Why? Sometimes our hope is placed in the wrong thing–perhaps what we wish, instead of God’s will for our life.

But can hope be overrated? I would have to say. . . no way!

Romans 15:13 says, “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

He is the God of hope and as we are filled with joy and peace because of His comfort we are able to overflow with hope.

Jeremiah 29:11 tells us, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

One of God purposes of filling us with the Holy Spirit is so that we can overflow with hope and His plans for our life include hope.

It sounds like hope is pretty important in our life according to the Lord, doesn’t it? In fact, 1 Thessalonians 4:13 explains one of the major differences between those who believe Jesus is Lord and those who do not: we “do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope.”

Don’t lose hope! It is one of the most vital ways that God’s presence is felt and known in your life.

Prayer: God, there are days when my hope seems pointless. I hope and hope and then nothing happens or things only get worse. My illness can seem to hinder my hope, so give me strength to use it as a way to show Your hope to the world. Amen.

About the author:
Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries and she lives in San Diego with her husband and son. She is gradually learning how to balance motherhood, family, illness, and ministry, but she still knows it will be a lifetime lesson. You can see the books she has written, including, Why Can’t I Make People Understand? at the Rest Ministries shop.

How has hope been a part of your life? Do you avoid hoping because you are afraid it won’t come to pass? How do these thoughts on hope alter your perspective in how important it is?

This is a nice short visual on a blackboard of how hope can change our life. It’s kinda neat and I hope you enjoy it. -Lisa

photo credit: h.koppdelaney via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

