Help For When Everything Is Falling Apart

What do you do when everything is falling apart? Kerryn shares where she finds her peace.

“I am severely afflicted; give me life, O Lord, according to your word” (Psalm 119:107).

Everything is falling apart on me!

It’s a slight exaggeration, but it’s how it feels within my body and life situation recently. Suffering illnesses, we all have those really bad days that bring us to our knees, bed or recliner. Currently I’m a bit like a teddy that has stuffing falling out at the well-worn seams.

Today, as I cried out to God to put me together again, He gave me a beautiful new image. It’s one that made me smile.

When I was a little girl, my youngest brother had a teddy that he’d named, oh so creatively as, “Little Ted!” Little Ted went everywhere with him.

Little Ted even had a voice! Yes, Little Ted could be heard answering in a high pitched voice, at convenient times. Unfortunately, Little Ted had a bit of a naughty streak too, keeping my brother up at night with his constant chatter. When told to be quiet and go to sleep my brother would say, “It’s Little Ted!”

Over time Little Ted began to look quite disheveled with stuffing escaping at ever-increasing holes. Our dear Grandma saw how Little Ted needed a new skin and lovingly knitted a cute, snug, red, woolen outer to keep his innards in. Looking bright and fresh, Little Ted had a new lease on life. His skin was still worn out, but the new outer layer kept everything in tact.

The Message Bible puts Psalm 119:107 like this: “Everything’s falling apart on me, God; put me together again with Your Word.”

When I’m “falling apart” I turn to the Psalms. Without fail, God “puts me together again” with new perspectives and words of comfort and peace.

Do I always turn there first? No, like many I often flounder around wondering what to do, as I pick up the stuffing that’s escaping faster than I can manage.

Praise God that He knits that new, snug outer layer that “puts me together” as I sit still in His Word and His presence.

Prayer: Lord, thank You that You truly know how it feels to fall apart at the cross, as Your life was drained from You. Your new body in heaven is one that I also look forward to. Until then, thank You that You put me together and “give me life, O Lord, according to Your Word.” Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

When the stuffing is falling out of you where do you turn? Is there a particular scripture that “gives you life” when you’re “falling apart”?

This song, by Plumb, is called “Hang On” and has lyrics you may feel apply to your own life. When she sings of the “sun” rising, she spells it “Son.” If you feel overwhelmed, like everything is falling apart, like you are drowning, we are glad you are here. Hang on! You are among others who truly–truly–care. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Help For When Everything Is Falling Apart

  1. My little shih tzu had a stuffed bunny that I would patch and sew , stitch and mend over and over. . Iris loved that bunny as if it were new. Jesus loves us intact or not. Iris has passed but bunny sits on the dresser looking worn. The other day Kerryn I actually looked at bunny and thought how I feel often worn and torn from the battle scars of illness. This story is precious. Lil Ted tale made me cry. I am with you my friend and this morning specifically prayed for dear you. You are wrapped in His arms .

  2. Oh Jannie, your story made me cry too! Tears of preciousness, comfort & understanding.

    Thanks for sharing about dear little Iris’ bunny & that you have that little bunny as a reminder of Iris & of your own illness battles. WOW! Soooo special. Yes, PTL that “Jesus loves us intact or not.”

    I thank you for your friendship & for your precious prayers. Prayers continue for you too dear Jannie. Gentle hugs. LOTSoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

