How the Illness ‘Adventure’ is Like Learning to Walk

What do the first steps learning to walks as a toddler take have to do with chronic illness? Dorthea shares . . .

“The path of the righteous is level; You, the Upright One, make the way of the righteous smooth. Yes, Lord, walking in the way of Your laws, we wait for You; Your name and renown are the desire of our hearts.” (Isaiah 26: 7-8)

There is something fascinating about watching a little child learn to walk. I have a little niece, Jaslene, who is at that stage. Hearing about her efforts makes me remember when my own children were that small. They were full of joy, curiosity, and fearlessness–totally excited about life.

Huge grins plastered across their faces, they put one foot in the front of the other, squeezing my hand for support. They were determined to make it across the room to Norm’s outstretched arms. Even when they stumbled or fell, they pulled themselves right back up and started all over again, laughing or squealing with delight.

As I think about my little niece concentrating on learning a new skill, I find myself becoming inspired. The ups and downs of living with chronic pain and illness often mirror Jaslene’s desire to walk.

There is the daily struggle of navigating the unknown.Will I have the energy to get through my day? Will pain force me to cancel plans? Will side effects from a new medicine be worse than the benefits?

Some days it is not easy for me to dust myself off and keep going. Often I struggle to find ways to cope and to seek the wisdom I need to persevere.

When I think about Jaslene and other children learning to walk, I discover that they have something to teach me. And that lesson is that I cannot travel down this path of affliction on my own.The only way to handle the challenges of daily limitations is with God, holding on to Him and His promises.

As I seek to live my life for God, I must follow Christ and live as He lived (I John 2:6). No matter what Jesus faced, He never lost His trust in the Father. And neither should I. I must remember that the Lord upholds me (Psalm 37:24).

Sometimes it may be hard to live in the moment and find joy. However, as I learn to keep my hope and trust in God, I can begin to view life with a sense of adventure.

Prayer: Father, help us to find comfort in Your presence. Enable us to live our lives with hope, regardless of our circumstances. Thank You for Jesus, who lived each day trusting You and changing the world around Him. Show us how to do the same. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in California with her family. Although she has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 20 years, she relies on God’s grace to strengthen and encourage her each day. She loves to hear from her readers. Please visit her in the Sunroom at: http://www.restministriessunroom.ning.com/profile/Dorothea Love or read some of her other works at http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

How have you learned to view life as an adventure, in spite of chronic illness?

“Strangely Dim” is a good pick-me-up song by Francesca Battistelli. If you are feeling overwhelmed by what life is handing you lately and you don’t know how to keep picking yourself up as you are “learning to walk,” this song will give you a smile and a good beat to turn in during those rough moments. -Lisa

photo credit: pacensepatoso via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

