Can Being ‘Bent’ Really Be Beautiful?

We don’t usually think of being “bent” as a lovely thing, but Vicki shares how it can be just that.

“Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.” Proverbs 22:6)

Bent is beautiful.

Those who have hands bent from arthritis would argue. People with backs bent in pain would dispute that statement.

So, how can anything bent be beautiful?

A crystal gift, given to me by a former student, whispers that message to me. It sits near a window in my kitchen. Each morning, I’m entertained by splashes of color. On the floor, on the ceiling, on the walls.

While sipping my morning coffee, I marvel at the vibrant patterns. The welcome distraction shifts my focus from my devotions.

What’s the lesson, Lord?
Hidden beauty is revealed only when light is bent.

I glance outside and notice branches bending in the breeze. They don’t break as they perform their dance. Graceful movements. Bowing to the wind.
What’s the lesson, Lord?
They’re preserved because they yield, bowing to the power.

Light bent by a prism becomes a beautiful rainbow. Like bent trees, bent knees speak messages of beauty also. Knees bent in prayer reveal an exquisite inner beauty. A bowed heart, yielded to God, acknowledges His power and love.

Contorted bodies deformed by disease, mask hidden beauty. Look carefully. See the splashes of heavenly beauty the divine Creator works.

We become the welcome distraction to others who struggle through life. They see us and stop dead in their tracks. Amazed at the Light we reflect. Perfect love. Inner peace. Genuine joy. Etched by the hand of God as He tenderly conforms us to His image.

I invite you to eavesdrop on my personal pep talk.

In the Amplified version of the Bible, Proverbs 22:6 says, “Train up a child in the way he should go [and in keeping with his individual gift or bent], and when he is old he will not depart from it.” The “way he should go”, according to the Amplified Bible, refers to an individual’s gift or bent. God has a path for each of us.

According to The Free Dictionary, bent is defined as: “a personal inclination, propensity, or aptitude.”

No illness or pain can alter God’s design for me. Disease might destroy my dreams or physical abilities. But it can’t change who I am. My unique bent is beautiful. If I stay flexible to God’s work in my life, He will refine my bent. Then I will shine for Him!

Can you relate?

Prayer: Dear Father, Thank You for speaking to me through creation. Open my eyes to all the lessons You have for me displayed in Your mighty works. Give me a glimpse of Your perspective on my life…how I can be used in new ways. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 31 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/

Did your illness made you feel worthless? Then, was there a time when you realized God can still use you? Have you come to appreciate your priceless worth?

This is “Shine Your Light On Us” by Robbie Seay Band and I think you will enjoy it. The lyrics hold a special meaning to the many of us who are chronically ill: “If you feel lost and tired. . . this is your song.” This one will go on my playlist! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

