Did You Know God Promises to Lift Your Head?

When you have a day where lifting your head seems impossible, remember that scripture even addresses this struggle. Fiona Burrows shares. . .

“But You are a shield around me, O Lord; You bestow glory on me and lift up my head.” (Psalm 3:3)

Over the last few weeks, I’ve had trouble with strong pain at the base of my skull and headaches that leave me feeling nauseous. While I often have headaches, this was apparently being caused by something that had jammed in my neck and despite treatment to release it, the problem persisted for a while.

When morning came, after a night of very disturbed sleep, I didn’t want to get up and the thought of even lifting my head off the pillow, seemed more than I could do, even though lying there was painful too.

Years ago, we used to sing a lot of “Scripture In Song” worship songs and without even knowing it, we were putting chunks of Scripture into our minds as they were set to catchy tunes. I often find my mind returning to those songs, but I have to search to find where the words were actually taken from in the Bible.

As I lay there struggling with the pain, the song in my mind was “My Glory and The Lifter Of My Head”* which contained the above verse in it’s lyrics–though they are closer to the words of the King James Version: “But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.”

I know there are many of you who would often feel almost unable to lift your head, or maybe hold it up or steady, for any length of time; maybe even to think about getting out of bed, or your recliner, or wheelchair.

When it feels we can hardly lift our head up for another day, or maybe lift up our broken body for another day, where do we go to find the strength to do so?

We lift our faces towards God, lift our hearts towards the One who gives us the strength to keep on going for another day, the One who is the lifter up of our head.

Father, thank You for the promises in this verse. Help us to look to You for the strength to raise our broken bodies, each new day You give us. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

* My Glory And The Lifter Of My Head, Mae McAlister ©1967, Scripture In Song Volume 1

What helps you to get going for another day, to face another day of pain or illness, even when you can barely lift your head?

The group Jars of Clay sings “God Will Lift Up Your Head” in this song of encouragement. Enjoy, -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Did You Know God Promises to Lift Your Head?

  1. Pingback: Did You Know God Promises to Lift Your Head? | ChristianBookBarn.com

  2. Lisa, glad you could relate, but sorry about the migraines. Hope the words will be a blessed reminder when you need them most.
    Blessings, Fiona

  3. Our church used to sing that “scripture chorus,” too, Fiona. It gives much comfort to know these words come straight from our God, doesn’t it? I, too am having a problem with my left shoulder and neck, which makes my head hurt all the time here lately. I finally broke down and called for a massage. That usually helps. But, what helps most is to know the One Who really is our Healer, and the One Who lifts up our heads when we feel as if we just can’t. All praise and glory go to Him!

Leave a Reply

