When Others Don’t Believe Your Illness, God Sees!

When people don’t believe your illness is as bad as you make it out to be it can be devastating. Bridget shares how we can find comfort.

“The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7b)

If you’re chronically ill, then you’ve probably had times when doctors, family or friends have doubted your “sickness” due to it being invisible to the world. Life is hard already and then to have people think you’re making up your pain–it can be so discouraging and disheartening.

When I came across this familiar passage where Samuel was anointing David as the successor to King Saul, I was reminded that not only does God look inside to see what is hidden in our hearts, but He also sees what others refuse to see.

God understands and knows that your pain is real. God knows that you are silently suffering when others around you don’t understand. God knows when you feel lonely and isolated from everyone around you. God sees that you long to have comfort here on earth. God sees how much others have hurt you by their unbelief.

But friends, God sees into your soul. He sees and acknowledges your pain. God alone can comfort and lift your spirit when no one else can. It doesn’t matter what others might think or believe about you–God knows the truth and someday others will know it too. I hope this encourages you today!

Prayer: Dear God, I hurt so much right now. I know I can share that pain with You and You will understand. Thank you for Your comfort! Amen.

About the Author
Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, and migraines. She works full time but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Bridget’s prayer is that anyone who comes across her writing or artwork would see she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” Find out more about Bridget at, http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

How do you cope when others doubt you?

I found a great song I think you will like. This woman goes by “Plumb” and here she is singing “Need You Now.” The lyrics talk about crying out for God, asking God to take away the suffering, and still. . . surrendering it all over to Him. Below the video you will find another video where she shares about what inspired the song.

She was having a great deal of anxiety, and from the ages of 13-19 she had panic attacks and at least once per day she suffered debilitating stomach cramps that altered her life. She talks about going through all of this in high school and the song “coming to her” in the bathroom stalls. I hope it blesses you. (It’s a 20 minute video but she shares all of the above in the first five minutes or so) -Lisa

2 thoughts on “When Others Don’t Believe Your Illness, God Sees!

  1. This was comforting to hear ( I’m tearing up) because I live with this daily. I nearly died this last winter and still my daughter throws these words in my face-“I don’t belive you’re sick!” That hurts so much. I finally told her we would never be able to have a good relationship until she can accept the reality that I am ill.

    I haven’t seen her or my three grandkids for two months. She is also pregnant again, and I’m missing all of that. Its sad.

  2. So sorry to hear that Evangeline!! I’m glad this devotional gave you comfort knowing that God sees AND he believes you!! God bless you as you continue on…
    Bridget

Leave a Reply

