Patience is a Fruit To Be Embraced, Not Feared

Are you ever afraid to ask for patience, because God may give you the opportunity to need it? Diane explains.

Is my complaint directed to man? Why should I not be impatient?” (Job 21:4)

Be honest, how many of you have heard the expression–especially by Christians, “don’t pray for patience; God will definitely make you deal with stuff!”?

Well I know I have. In fact, I have uttered or thought those very words myself at times in my life–quickly trying to erase them away thinking, “Just kidding, God!”

In the past five years, I have learned a greater appreciation for this wonderful gift from God, a gift I’d like to share with you. The virtue of patience is often misunderstood. When speaking of it in the sense of prayer, it is often looked at as an open door for God to send pestilence and trouble our way, when in reality it is an opportunity for God to show us how very much He Loves us.

When you look at the book of Job, you can’t believe all that God allowed him to endure. Over and over God allowed Satan to touch Job’s life in ways that were devastating. His wife, his friends, all thought it was from sin. They told him to walk away from God, but he chose to wait patiently for God.

I’m not saying he enjoyed it by any means, but he endured it, he grew from it, and in the end , God blessed him abundantly.

Over the last five years God has taken me through a maze of experiences in which I have been blessed to see how truly amazing He is. He has poured upon me His grace, mercy, and strength, allowing me to be comforted by the knowledge that I do not have to forge this life on my own.

He has taught me submissiveness, endurance, and calmness in the midst of adversity. He has shown me that patience isn’t just about enduring the stormy weather, but it also includes the building of steadfast character in the midst of pain, affliction, and hardship.

He has taught me about learning to enjoy the journey, not just trying to get to the destination. It’s about allowing God to show you everything He has for you in this season of time, in this very moment of your life.

Though this might not sound inviting to some, it is, in reality, the best five years I have had in my life. For without it I may not have ever sought God with the depth of all my heart and soul, desiring to know Him in a way I have never done before.

So if you are seeking to fulfill your soul with His presence in a way that will go beyond all that you have ever fathomed, pray, asking for His patience, and then wait patiently, for He will always honor those who seek Him with all their heart. 2 Chronicles 16:9 says, “For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.”

Prayer: Father, as we begin each day, let us not fear to ask You for all the good and pleasing gifts You can pour upon us just because they may cause us growing pains. But let us realize that with those gifts comes a deeper understanding of You. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as a chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art and writing as well. She is a colon cancer survivor; has chronic digestive illnesses, fibromyalgia other issues. But her joy is in serving God and bringing encouragement to others.

In what ways has God grown you through the virtue of patience? Do you see praying for it as a benefit or a detriment?

Addison Road sings “Won’t Let Me Go” reminding us that despite the disasters in our life, the heart aches, the physical pain, God will never leave our side. I am liking this band! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

