“When It Rains, It Pours!” Now What Lord?

When it feels like everything hits you at once, you may feel like the “rain” in life will drown you. Kerryn, who is experiencing winter in Australia, shares what God has shown her.

“Let my teaching fall like rain and my words descend like dew, like showers on new grass, like abundant rain on tender plants” (Deuteronomy 32:2).

In our life, with chronic invisible illnesses, there are times where everything seems to come crashing down on us–all at once.

Currently, it’s one of those times!

It didn’t help my body, or mood, that it was raining constantly. . . and the previous day . . . and for the next few days, as we approach winter in Australia.

I had just sent a phone text to thank a friend for their help and prayers. At the end I wrote: “When it rains, it pours!”

As soon as I’d sent the text I felt that “nudge from the Lord” that I well know. It was a nudge to say that there’s something important, from Him, for me–if I want to listen.

I had been focusing on all that was challenging and pouring down, like stinging rain.

As I sat with the Lord I had a picture of myself standing in the rain, when an umbrella suddenly appeared in my hand! That was the first reminder:

He will provide for my needs and He knows what I need. God then reminded me of the many times He has intervened, in incredible ways recently, that can only be His hand.

I looked up into the umbrella, as I opened it up. That was the second reminder.

I need to look up to Him, not down at the circumstances.

It was a specific umbrella . . .long and clear, so that I could see through it to where I’m going, while being protected from the rain. There was my third reminder.

The Lord will protect me. The rain might continue, but He’ll direct me through it with some shelter. I may not see clearly through the plastic in the rain, but it will be enough to direct my steps.

It was such a simple picture, yet one that gave me great comfort and peace.

Finally, I reflected on Deuteronomy 32:2 “Let my teaching fall like rain and my words descend like dew, like showers on new grass, like abundant rain on tender plants.”

All of the obvious reminders came about rain being poured out to create life, growth and drinking water. Suddenly I realized how thirsty I am. Thirsty for the Living Water! My soul was longing for the Living Water and worship. It might have been pelting with rain, yet I was thirsty!

Lord, “only You can satisfy!”

Prayer: Lord, I’m tired and thirsty. Help me to come to You now, for “only You can satisfy.” Refresh me with Your Living Water. Thank You, gracious Lord. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

“When it rains, it pours” What has the Lord taught you during those difficult times of downpours? What pictures does the Lord give you that help bring comfort and peace?

Kerryn thought you may enjoy the song “As the Deer” and this is a beautiful acappella version. I hope you enjoy. -Lisa

photo credit: devinish via photopin cc

3 thoughts on ““When It Rains, It Pours!” Now What Lord?

Leave a Reply

