Who is Watching How You Cope? Even The Dentist!

Even when we don’t feel like we are coping well, someone is watching, Fiona Burrows shares about an unlikely person–the dentist–who is observing her hope.

“And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into His likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” (2 Corinthians 3:18)

Do you have days when you feel like you are making such a mess of your life:

  • complaining because you are sick of things being as hard as they seem?
  • not acting towards others as you know you should?
  • so focused on you–not seeing much else around you?

This was one of those days–or weeks–or months!It’s been seeming harder than “usual” most of this year for me.

It was time for a routine trip to the dentist. Since the time she knew I was being hospitalized a year or so ago, both she and her nurse have always enquired about how my back is and how I’m managing the pain. While you don’t talk much with someone’s hands in your mouth, it seems our relationship has grown since they found out I also, was a Christian last year.

Knowing that we shared that faith, meant that our “how are you going” was on a different level.

This time when she asked, we had more than a few words conversation, even though she was busy. She went on to say how much she admires my attitude to things being difficult; how I manage to still smile; and how I seem to have patience and acceptance of the limitations I face–even as they increase.

I think I laughed and said, “Even if it has taken me 25 years to get there?”

She shared how she was feeling she doesn’t handle stuff as well as she once did–with age or whatever, yet she sees me having to handle more and more.

It seemed that my attitude had been witnessing to them long before they knew I was a Christian. On that day, I came away encouraged because it seemed I was reflecting a good attitude–how my faith keeps me striving to get through another day with God’s help.

Maybe I wasn’t making such a mess of life that day.

Prayer: Father, we just never know what others are seeing–on the good, or the bad days–help us to reflect You and the difference You make in our lives, to those we are in contact with and may we point them towards You. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Are there times when you know your attitude hasn’t been the greatest? Have you seen how that affects others around you, for good or bad?

This is a great video about what our legacy will be. Are we impacting people’s life and showing them Jesus’ love whole we are here on earth? It is easy to forget that people like even our dentist and doctors are influenced by us–especially since they know how much we suffer. This is a group I like, Sidewalk Prophets as they sing “Live Like That.” Bless you! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

