Gravity: Why Do We Trust it and Yet Doubt God’s Power?

How can we question if God has our lives in His hands, and yet never worry about what would happen if we lost something as simple as gravity? Vicki shares.

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to him be glory. . . ” (Ephesians 3:20-21).

Do you get angry with gravity? Perhaps once you felt like saying, “Thanks a lot, gravity. Would have been nice if you momentarily ceased your pull so I wouldn’t have fallen.”

While skiing down the slopes, do you gleefully shout, “Gotta love this gravitational acceleration!”

Do you worry gravity will suddenly end? Leaving your plane stranded in the sky, with you drifting endlessly in the stratosphere?

Do you chain your car to the ground in fear gravity will fail you? That you’ll wake up to find your car floated away?

Of course not. We take gravity for granted. It’s dependable, predictable, and constant. We find it easy to trust that power, but not its Source.

Why is it that I can completely trust gravity, but have splintered faith in the Creator of that energy? The power I take for granted is held together by God. Yet, my trust in His divine power wanes and wobbles.

I trust Him just after I witness an answer to prayer. But my shaky faith returns to a teeter-totter trust when cognition cares consume me.

What if my mental processing speed continues to decrease? What if casual conversations become more and more difficult for me to understand? What will I be like five years from now if it’s so hard to think now? Will my husband get tired of dealing with a wife who’s such high maintenance?

My trust in friends is based on tangible evidence of their love and faithfulness. The more someone loves me, the more I can trust that person.

How can I have steadfast trust in an unseen God? Paul’s prayer reveals the secret: “And I pray that you . . . may have power . . . to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge” (Ephesians 3:17-19).

His love, beyond my wildest imagination, helps me build unshakable faith. I live with MS–a reminder of His love. MS (multiple sclerosis) gives me pain. That suffering causes me to focus on MS (“My Savior”–my hope). MS helps me focus on God’s love.

Prayer: Dear Father, how I need to comprehend Your perfect love for me. Help me to stop comparing Your love to how I love others. Increase my understanding of Your great love. So I may rest in that knowledge and trust You more. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 31 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/

A more heavenly outlook can lead to greater trust in God. Does your illness or pain help you have a more eternal perspective?

“My Shepherd Will Supply My Need” is sung by BB&N Chorale in this video. Take a few minutes to remind yourself how God will supply your every need. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

