The God Who Sees Me Know When I Am Hurting

Have you ever felt forgotten by God? Wandering lost? Elizabeth shares how you can know “God still sees me.”

“She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: ‘You are the God who sees me,’ for she said, ‘I have now seen the One who sees me.’” (Genesis 16:13)

Hagar found herself in some pretty depressing places. Some were the result of her own strong will, some were simply circumstantial. Did you notice that the Lord came to her aid regardless? We feel sorry for her at times, other times we wonder what she expected. The Lord wasn’t bothered by any of that. He saw her as she was for who she was. . . and loved her anyway.

Do you ever feel overcome by pain, brain fog or the threat of depression? I can get to a point in which I am almost too battle weary to even dive into the Word decently. Sorrow clogs my perception, my body is addled and screaming for my full attention, and the Bible feels more like a “should do” than a “want to.”

How precious is it, friends, that God meets us even there? Someone once made the point that Jesus didn’t preach on that awful hill to Golgotha. It wasn’t the time. And He doesn’t require us to always be knee deep into a topic study or theology lesson. He meets us where we are–where we truly are.

On foggy days I often pick one verse or even one word to chew on, meditate on or simply pray. It is amazing how He meets me there and feeds me. Music is also such a help at such times. We are privileged to have the scriptures at our fingertips through music during the present age.

Prayer: God, when I am weary and do not know what to read or how to pray, remind me that You are there beside me, wanting to comforting me and be my strength and joy. Amen.

About the author:
Elizabeth Vendley is the wife David, and lives in North Central Michigan. They have raised seven children. Elizabeth has lived with severe Interstitial Cystitis since 1996. Her passion is glorifying the Lord by writing out the lessons He has taught her. She would love to hear from readers through the Sunroom.

When you are too exhausted to read the Word, have you resigned to the fact that you may not be able to connect with God today, or have you stated the truth–“God sees me”?

In some ways, this song, “No One Else Knows” by Building 429, could be the anthem for those of us who live with chronic illness that no one else seems to really understand. I hope you will take a moment to listen to these lyrics, that remind us God always knows us.

photo credit: byronv2 via photopin cc

One thought on “The God Who Sees Me Know When I Am Hurting

  1. and what if and when God never meets us where we are, even 10 years later? What if he doesn’t meet us where we are and we just die from old age without him ever responding?

Leave a Reply

