Have You Ever Felt Touched By God’s Hand?

You may feel it physically or emotionally, but God does touch us. Laura shares how sometimes we just need to be still so we can feel it.

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’ So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?'” (Hebrews 13:5-6).

I felt God’s hand in church entwined in mine. It was gentle but strong, assuring me that he was by my side. The priest had just mentioned that God never leaves us. He said God remains and holds our hand just as firmly as a mother clings to her young; even when the child tries to pull away.

How comforting to know that when we try to turn from our Heavenly Father, He will not let us go.

This particular Sunday I was recovering from a sinus infection. I should not have gone to church as I wasn’t feeling well to begin with but I really wanted to attend. It was about twenty minutes in to the service and I needed to exit the church for a bit and stretch my legs in the chapel.

My mind was foggy; I was nauseous, my head ached, and I was all-around feeling poorly. I clung to the pew firmly with both hands and listened intently to the priest, waiting for him to finish so I could make a quiet exit.

And that is when he spoke of God holding our hand. Hmm, I could feel the touch immediately; what an amazing gift I was given. The strength of these words allowed me to safely exit the church and recover in the chapel, with God along for the ride.

Sometimes it is difficult to turn to Our Heavenly Father when we are struggling, but it is in these moments He simply grabs our hand firmly. He is there during the joyful times as well, by our side: a constant companion in an often unpredictable life.

Prayer: Dear Lord, Thank you for providing me with a reminder that you are always by my side whether it is in the day-to-day struggles or the joys. Help us to look for the reminders that God is with us through our illness to guide us through our days.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three children. She retired last year from a job of 23 years as an elementary school counselor. She is writing a book about dealing with dysautonomia, a neurological condition in which the autonomic nervous system malfunctions; affecting such things as blood pressure, heart rate, breathing and temperature regulation.

In what ways have you felt God’s presence in your life? Have you ever felt the touch of God’s hand in either in physical or emotional way?

Take a moment, take a deep breath, and ask God to touch you. I know for some of you it feels like it has been years since God has “touched you” in some way. Ask Him to touch you. This song, “Touch Me, Lord” with the Parachute Band can be your prayer today. -Lisa

photo credit: Auntie P via photopin cc

2 thoughts on “Have You Ever Felt Touched By God’s Hand?

Leave a Reply

