Worshiping The Lord When The Music Fades

What happens when God takes away the music–literally? Kerryn explains.

“Sing to the Lord a new song: sing to the Lord, all the earth” (Psalm 96:1).

The Bible is full of verses about singing, worship, and dance. So what happens when the music fades, due to illnesses?

Over the years, I’ve had many times of having “the crutches” that I rely upon stripped away. It’s not a comfortable experience, but God uses it to refine me.

As a singer in the 80s, I remember the confusion when I clearly heard that the Lord wanted me to lead a dance group at our church, not a group of singers.

I set about arguing with God and reminded Him that singing was my gift and talent! What a frivolous activity to try to argue with God! He knew what was best.

Singing was shelved, as I relied heavily on prayer and humbly asked God to help me to lead a team of dancers into ministry. The worship that we experienced through dance was truly divine. As we relied on God to lead us in worship services, using dance, we saw release come for those in the service, with many emotional healings. How could I have doubted that what God wanted was best for those 10 years?!

He returned my singing when we moved churches. My passion is to sing in worship to my Lord. It was joyous to lead the singers each week and often to open worship through song. What I’d been taught during those 10 years of dance ministry was truly precious in leading worship.

One of my favorite songs was the “Heart of Worship.” Little did I know that the music would fade . . . to a stop!

I’m unable to listen to music, due to impact upon my sensory nervous system through chronic fatigue syndrome and the sensitivities that accompany it. If I listen to music or attempt to sing I suffer extreme nausea and fatigue, while feeling like my body will collapse.

So, what does God want me to learn from this time of having music “stripped away?”

The words in the song below say it all. The Lord wants my breath, my heart, my soul. He simply wants me to come to Him in worship. He wants me to focus on Jesus when I come. No need for anything else, as my focus is upon Jesus.

What have I gained? A new song has evolved. One of being simply in the presence of my dear Lord Jesus. What a gift!

Prayer: Lord, thank You for stripping away music, so that I can be more intimately in Your presence. Help me to bring You more than a song. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What music ministers most deeply to your soul? What has the Lord “stripped away” from you that has taken you deeper into relationship with Him?

Michael W. Smith sings “Heart of Worship” in one of Kerryn’s favorite videos she chose just for you. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Worshiping The Lord When The Music Fades

  1. I surely can relate to this. I ‘m not a singer, but have loved music all my life. I suffer from ME/CFS and there was an over 2 year long period that I couldn’t listen to music at all. Well, I did hear a few lines every second month, and those always brought me to tears when YOU ARE HOLY; HOLY ARE YOU LORD came. Always same song and always tears when that came. That became the “cry” of my heart. God came closer to me as I was stripped from most things around me and in me. There are times we experience things that aren’t good-feeling, but they are truly good-working in an eternal perspective.God is so good and faithful toward us! BTW: Today I can enjoy a song or 5 now and then, but nothing like before. But I sure appreciate it more than I used to! GBU!

  2. Cecilie, it was interesting to hear that you’ve had the same problem with listening to music, as I hadn’t heard of anyone else with that problem. Thanks for sharing.

    Nice to know that you understand & have been blessed by the stripping away too. It sounds like God has really grown you through this experience. 🙂

    Oddly, I’m ok listening to music on tv most of the time, but do often have to turn down the volume a lot. I seem to need to see the singer move their mouth to the words of the song to process it!! Some styles of music are not possible though even then.

    How wonderful that you can enjoy songs more now. Enjoy! Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

