Clinging To God While Moving to a New Home

Moving when you are chronically ill is a challenge. Laura shares how she is trying to keep her priorities in the right place.

“Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young–a place near your altar, Lord Almighty, my King and my God. Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising You.” (Psalm 84: 3-4).

Our house is for sale. We are moving a whopping three miles to the next town. We had hoped to relocate when we were in our late sixties, but my chronic illness sped up our plans twenty years. We’re excited, however, that this move will lessen our home-maintenance load a bit and provide an easier lifestyle.

There is apprehension. Our house has only been on the market a short time and I’ve already wondered if we are crazy to try to sell at a time when my energy is low. Keeping a home clean with three children and a puppy is not easy.

I am learning to let go and accept the fact the house may not be perfectly clean for showings–which is difficult. I’m also trying to work on pacing myself so my body does not crash from over work; I have not always been successful at this, as my family and close friends will attest.

When anxiety seeps in because I begin to think this move will not happen and our lives will not go in the direction I think is needed, I remind myself that God is ultimately in control of the situation. And that thought is very comforting.

The sparrow has found a home and so will we, and God will help us when the time and place is right. God will find a way for I am not ultimately the one in charge of this situation.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for reminding me that you are always there to support and guide us in our lives. This is such a comfort to me and others. Please help us to be reminded of this even when we are going through very trying situations. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She retired from her job as an elementary school counselor in 2012. She is writing a book about her struggles with dysautonomia _ a neurological condition in which the autonomic nervous system malfunctions, affected such things as blood pressure, heart rate, breathing and temperature regulation.

How do you find comfort in knowing that God is guiding your life?

Does a major life change feel like it is causing major upheaval in all areas of your life? This song, “Broken” by Lifehouse may explain what you are going through well. I know what is like to go to bed each night wondering if you can get through the next day and where the energy will come from to do it. I hope you enjoy the lyrics. – Lisa

Leave a Reply

