O, Death, Where is Thy Sting?

Deni wrote this last week about the loss of her husband. Please continue to keep her and her family in your prayers. -Lisa

It obviously stings one’s heart when a loved one dies, but does God send us signs to assure us to continue to rely on Him? Deni explains.

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” (Job 1:21)

I know some of you will think nothing of this.
I know some of you will think I am reading into things.
Some of you may even think that grief has made me a bit “odd.”
Some of you, however, will nod and understand.

You see, my husband passed from this world yesterday afternoon.

Yet God saw fit to enable me to be there the night before he died to talk to him, tell him I loved him, and that we’d be okay.

That was a big thing for my husband.

From the diagnosis of his multiple myeloma five years ago until this current medical crisis he had a by-word.

“No matter what happens, we are gonna be okay.”

He’d often tell me that–or I’d say it to him. We knew, that in either this world or the next that God would take care of us and we’d be okay.

When I was at the hospital, I played music that I call “heart music” for my husband. It’s a list of songs he personally picked out and put together for me to listen to when my afib was out of control. The music–along with my meds–brought me back into sinus rhythm. Sometimes the music alone was enough.

At home this morning, realizing how alone I was going to be in my house, my heart started bumping around a bit.
I knew I needed music, but I couldn’t quite bring myself to listen to the playlist. I even know what song was playing when my husband passed away. I couldn’t hear that today.

I decided to play another list of calm classical music. The problem? My phone was still set to the music play list from the night before.

I gulped a bit, wanting to quickly get to the other playlist.

Then I looked down at the song that had been playing last and was still paused on my phone.

The song?
I’m Okay.

I burst out crying and told my eleven-year-old daughter. She looked at me with her trusting eyes and said, “That’s God. He’s telling us daddy is okay.”

And today I am reassured that he is and that we will be, too.

Prayer: Father God, I praise Your name. You know the days that were ordained for us. Thank You that everything that happens to us is guided by you, and that in the end–everything will be okay. Amen and amen.

About the author:
deni was forced into an early retirement from a field she loved where she worked with special needs children to encourage their emotional growth. It brings her joy to bring that same love of encouraging others as she shares lessons she has learned as she walks this path of living with chronic pain and illnesses.

Believing that the only true way to deal with physical and emotional pain is to bring them to the feet of her Lord and Savior, her hope is that by sharing the insights she have gleaned while many physical challenges (Celiac Sprue, Atrial Fibrillation, Ankylosing Spondylitis and Porphyria to name a few) She lives in a well-loved rambling old house sharing it with four generations of family. You can find more of her writings at http://www.todaysencouragingwordonline.com She can be contacted through her website.

Deni shares “This song, “Howard’s Song” was written when one of my closest friend’s passed away. It was played at my daughter’s funeral. It holds true for my sentiment regarding my husband’s passing. “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” (1 Corinthians 15:55)”

Have you ever experienced something like Deni describes, a sign from God that helped take the sting away of your loss?

Leave a Reply

