Can You Think of Others To Relieve Pain?

When we take the time to think of others can our pain really be relieved? Vicki shares how this can be possible.

“When Jesus saw His mother there, and the disciple whom He loved standing nearby, He said to her, ‘Woman, where is your son,’ and to the disciple, ‘Here is your mother.’ From that time on, this disciple took her into his home” (John 19:26-27).

“Just think of others.” Did your doctor ever prescribe that for pain relief? Who can even think of others when in pain?

Recently, I had dental work done. Some of you might wince just at the thought–for good reason. The pain is merely the beginning of what elicits such fright. Financial fear hits when the work is done. You leave with a numb face and an empty wallet. Then there are the sounds.

Please tell me why someone hasn’t figured out how to invent a muffler for the drill! That sound conjures up reminders of torturous visits to the dentist as a child.

Just when I thought the pain would soon end, the medication popped that illusion. What was supposed to make me feel better made me vomit. Yuck!

It wasn’t a good time for me to be miserable (is there ever a good time?). Our son, his wife, and our fifteen-month-old granddaughter, Sofie, were visiting. We only get to see Sofie twice each year.

We visited an indoor play area for children. For three hours, Sofie’s off-the-chart cute factor kept my mind off the pain. Later that day, while swimming with her in the hotel pool, I experienced relief from pain.

Days later, I needed more dental work (to finish the bridge work and fill a cavity). No pain meds this time. The next morning, I visited a friend in the hospital. During the four hours with her, I felt no pain.

That experience made me think of Christ’s crucifixion. When He faced excruciating pain, He thought of others. He forgave those crucifying Him and promised paradise to the repentant criminal hanging next to Him.

Most of us won’t experience such unspeakable torture. But, Christ’s selfless response to pain teaches us how to cope.

Think of others. It’s a remedy with no adverse side effects.

It helped me to know my tooth pain would end. That was my focus. Similarly, it helps to focus on the ultimate end to pain. In heaven, final relief will come when I’m given a new body. Come quickly, Lord Jesus!

Prayer: Dear Father, Thank You for sending Your Son to die for our sin and to be an example. Jesus, who felt pain, showed us how to deal with it. Help me focus on others when my pain is severe. To pray for others. To remember things could always be worse. Facing life in this world without You would be unthinkable. Thank You for being with me when I need You most. Help me feel Your presence during those times. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 31 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net

Was there a time when you experienced relief from pain while focusing on someone else?

Natalie Grant sings “Stronger” in this video, a song to a friend saying whenever you need somebody you can depend on me. Beautiful and a great song to email to a friend who is going through a difficult time. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

