The Financial Turmoil We Face When Ill

With illness often comes financial struggles. Karlton shares how he has coped with this burden.

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:12-13)

There are probably very few people with chronic illnesses and disabilities who are not severely impacted by financial losses due to their condition. As the primary breadwinner in our home, when I was knocked flat by illness, we went through terrible financial hardship because of my health.

It can feel like a cold slap in the face to be hit by financial losses on top of being stricken with illness and disease. You find yourself barely afloat dealing with your affliction, and then the money stops coming in, doctor bills and medication costs pile up, making you feel like you are sinking in debt when your health is already dragging you down.

There is a terrible helpless feeling that overcomes you when you see rising expenses and have no idea how to pay for the added burden. As if adding another layer to our fatigue, depression, and anxiety, the rising costs of our illness can be crushing. It is a suffocating feeling when our health costs across the board are far more than we can carry.

Talk about faith–you are going to need it to carry the associated burdens of financial strains related to chronic illness. Looking back on just how terrible my finances have been because of my health, and looking forward to ongoing financial challenges, the only word that comes to my mind is “faith.”

Trusting that the Lord will make a way is the only way forward through your financial challenges when illness turns your world upside down. I honestly cannot explain how God enabled me to get through years of terrible financial strain because of my health woes, I can only say that it truly was God who worked miracles time and again so that we were not crushed by the weight of financial burdens.

We trust God for so many things. I would encourage you to take your financial burdens before the Lord and ask Him to make a way through your financial challenges.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us through the burden of health costs, and thank You for the many ways You have already helped us. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. He is thankful that the Lord is his provider.

Have the financial costs of your illness weighed you down? Have you brought these cares to the Lord and asked Him to make a way for you through your financial burdens?

Financial struggles can make you feel like you are drowning… This song, “Storm” by Lighthouse is a beautiful song about those storms in life–and what a difference it can make when we keep our focus on the Lord–so we can walk on that water. I loved this song. . . -Lisa

2 thoughts on “The Financial Turmoil We Face When Ill

  1. Lisa, this truly hit home for me. It is so difficult to go from a comfortable lifestyle to disability, then cancer, for me. Disability is very hard on our finances, but I didn’t know how difficult it could get until I came down with Stage 4 Cancer. It does feel like you are drowning. I am divorced & have no children, so have had no immediate family to help me through my illness & the mass of medical bills. Yet, God did not leave me or forsake me. He sent some dear friends who helped me get my financial assistance paperwork together for several of my debtors. It becomes very complicated when you lose what little organization you had to begin with because of chemo. My friends helped me get it done! Praise God! I don’t know the outcome yet, but I am so thankful that God blessed me with true friends. I have found during this experience that everyone you think is a friend is not a true friend in need. Yet, when you are blessed with even a few true friends in need, they are worth their weight in gold & have been sent by God. Thank you for this uplifting article. It lets me know that I’m not alone in the state that I was in. I was drowning, and then you referred to keeping our eyes on Jesus, and it was confirmation to me of an experience I had with God while in the hospital. His message to me was to stop looking at the waves & storm; to keep my focus on Him & I would be able to get through anything. I know that is true. Thanks again Lisa & may God bless you for this wonderful ministry & all that you do!

  2. Eva, thanks for sharing your thoughts. Illness makes a good ‘friend filter’, as you said, you find out who your friends are. I wish you well and pray God meets all your needs.
    Blessings.
    Karlton

Leave a Reply

