I Don’t Want to Sit Alone

If you have ever felt an increase of anxiety, for example when you sit alone somewhere, you aren’t alone. Fiona Burrows shares. . .

“And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. . . . your Father knows that you need them. But seek His kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.” (Luke 12:29-31)

Chronic illness seems to often cause us to worry more than people who are without it. With worry has come an increase in my insecurity. I become insecure and anxious about things that may not have concerned me before.

I’ve never liked having to arrive places on my own, wondering if anyone will speak to me, sit with me–or whatever. Even though I’ve been at the same church all my life, that’s one of the places that I hate going alone. Sometimes I get quite anxious about going.

There have been times when I have sat alone and felt alone, even times when I’ve not got there at all. I now usually arrive with a friend and either one of us drives, so this is not such an issue, unless one of other of us is not going for some reason.

Over the last 12 months or so a couple have consistently been sitting near us–or been there for us to sit with–meaning I’m not quite so anxious about if I’ll end up feeling alone.

I know, it’s not all rational–there are others who will sit or talk with me and even if they don’t, I can do it on my own, but the insecurity has become worse and knowing they will probably be there is a comfort.

Today as I went into a seat alongside this couple I thought how grateful I have become not just because they are there, but for their growing interest and support for how I’m doing. She nearly always wishes me a “better week” as we part after the service. That’s encouraging–it shows she cares, and I go away knowing I’m cared about.

God isn’t only concerned about the big things in our lives–He knows about the little things too and cares enough to provide ways around or through them.

God knows that my mind is often so consumed by the concerns I should have handed over to Him, or the pain that seems to take over my thoughts at times–but I saw this little thing as another example of God’s provision for me personally. Maybe that’s part of the “as well” in the above verse in Luke.

Prayer: Father, thank You that You care about the little things as well and that You treat each of us personally, according to our needs. Help me to recognize and be grateful always. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

In what ways have you seen God care about “the little things” in your life?

When you are feeling lonely or anxious it is one of those times God is running to you! This song explains just how important you are and always will be to Him as Phillips, Craig, and Dean sing “When God Ran,” animated by Han Lee. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Sit Alone

  1. This post appeared the day after I had just written a post called “Sitting Alone”, which is about my experience being left sitting alone because of my need to sit frequently. So it peaked my interest to see a similar topic. I too get anxious sitting alone, even though I am an introvert and actually don’t really mind it when I think about it. Nice post.

  2. Thanks – I had a look at your post too – an encouragement to look for those who may be on the outer, not by choice. Blessings, Fiona

Leave a Reply

