Can Music Be Therapeutic For The Hurting

How does music help you cope with pain? Karlton shares how it can even impact how much pain we feel.

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” (Psalm 32:7)

The benefits of music are well known. I recently read a study that said music can be more beneficial to patients than pain medication. I know from my own life that music has been a great blessing to me time and again. Life without music is unimaginable to me. I could do without television and movies much easier than I could do without music.

I like Rock and Christian Rock music, it is like a strong cup of coffee to get me started some days. Light Classical music relaxes me, and more than once it has put me to sleep when I badly needed rest. Smooth Jazz has cheered me up. And Christian Pop and Praise music never fails to stir my spirit and enable me to look heavenward, even through my pain.

It is hard for me to imagine a life without music. And I believe one day when we get to heaven there will be no end of music, by which all earthly music will pale in comparison. I look forward to that day, and can only imagine the joyful songs that await us.

We may all like different types of music, we may relate to different music genres, but when you find a song that speaks to your soul, it is a powerful thing. Music can take you out of yourself, stir your emotions in a positive way, music can lift your spirit through melody and lyrics that you can relate to in a special manner.

Perhaps you are struggling with the blues because of your affliction, maybe you are feeling quite horrible right now, I would encourage you to find the music that blesses you the most, and turn up the volume.

Prayer: Dear Lord, fill our lives with music and with Your love. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. He is a lifelong music lover.

Have you ever thought of music as therapy? What kind of music lifts your spirit?

Can music make a difference? Oh yes! This is a touching video about a ministry, Heart to Hand, that provides music (and hope, and comfort, and so much more) to hospitalized children and their families. a sweet video and I hope it reminds you of just how much God has a special plan for you.

2 thoughts on “Can Music Be Therapeutic For The Hurting

  1. Pingback: We Love Creativity

  2. Pingback: Musical firsts… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal...

Leave a Reply

