Don’t Forget to Write On The Tablet of Your Heart

Why is it so important to cherish God’s Word? Diane shares how the saying “don’t forget to write” takes on a new meaning when it comes to God’s commandments.

“My son, do not forget My teaching but keep My commands in your heart, for they will prolong your life many years and bring you peace and prosperity. Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck write them on the tablet of your heart.” (Proverbs 3:1-3)

Recently my husband and I had the bitter sweet joy of moving our middle child to her first apartment. As I was following behind my husband’s truck, which was towing a trailer packed full of our daughter’s belongings, I couldn’t help but think about how long ago it had been that my own father had done the same for me.

My Dad, family and I had piled in all the mismatched furniture, hand-me-down pots and pans, then after all the sage advice being given, my roommate and I shooed them off, assuring them we had it all under control.

I remember all the many dreams and aspirations I had at that time. Now I thought about my sweet daughter and how she now was the one with her dreams and thoughts of what her new life would be like. As I drove on I prayed for her. I prayed that she would remember not my words but the words of God that I had shared with her over the years.

Deuteronomy 6:6-7 says, ”These commandments that I give to you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on our children. Talk about them when you sit and when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”

I prayed that as she goes through her daily life she would seek His will and look to those words, written on the tablet of her heart, by the Savior himself, and she would find and follow His answers to her questions.

As I looked back I have to say there were times I chose the wrong paths, I chose not to listen to those words that you had written on my own heart, as I know each of us have done. I am saddened, in that when I look back, I see time I feel was wasted, when I was healthy, when I feel I could have come to know Him and spent more time in serving the Lord, had I only listened and obeyed. But who is to say what is wasted time. Would I be who I am now had I not experienced what I have?

Would I be as close to this wonderful, all powerful, all forgiving God, if I had not gone down the paths I did? I cannot say. I can only live in the present, in what He has for me in this very moment, in this appointed time and place, in the health I am in, or the lack of it.

To be able to share what I have learned with my own children and others, as He leads. 2 Corinthians 1:3 says “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.”

Prayer: Father, what an amazing God you are, that you desire to live and breathe within us, to write your instructions on our very hearts. I pray that we will choose to open our hearts wide and encompass you’re your love, allowing your words to be written upon our very souls for an eternity spent with you. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as a chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art as well. She is a colon cancer survivor, she has chronic irritable bowl and fibromyalgia other issues. But her hope is in the Lord who will renew her strength.

Have you had to open the door and let your loved one step out into the world? What thoughts can you share with us about it? Do you have regrets of time not spent with the Lord? Or have you found those times were used by God for your growth? Share with us your life experiences that we may benefit from your growth too!

“What If” is a song by Nichole Nordeman that asks some of the tough questions so many skeptics ask about Jesus. As kids go off to college this fall, these are some of the questions they may encounter that we pray them through as they search for the answers to make their faith their own. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

