When You Become Angry with God

Have you ever been angry with God? Laura shares her journey through anger and how she dealt with it rather than deny it.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. (Matthew 7:7-8)

Really, God, is this the answer you are giving me? I don’t have a clue why you are telling me this, can you be a little clearer?

This is the conversation God and I had recently in my frustrated state. I know that God’s answers often don’t come when I want them to and may be different than the ones I’m seeking. I have explained this to people who scoff at the idea that God answers our prayers. They are struggling with their faith and I try to help.

Recently, however, my faith was tested while dealing with serious stressors regarding one of my children. In a weak state, I cried out to the Lord and in anger decided I had given up–was done praying and listening. And then I talked to two Christian friends who kindly listened and didn’t judge when I told them my decision–rather they both prayed for me through my tears.

How could God, the person who claims to love His children, throw another stressor on my family in addition to my chronic illness? Didn’t He know we had had enough and needed a break? C’mon, we prayed, we followed the rules, we were good people. Couldn’t He solve this problem–it had gone on for months–it was time for it to end?

But no, it wasn’t that easy–and I was mad–at God.

But here is the amazing thing. I stayed angry. Who am I kidding? I was frustrated and sad for several days. I still prayed because honestly I could not give up on prayer. I needed the Lord as much as I needed oxygen, fluids, and my medications. But they were quick standard prayers, nothing too personal because I did not have the energy for anything else.

A few days later while driving around on errands I began talking to God. And the most remarkable thing happened–He was there, listening. And then peace overcame me. It was not total peace, because the situation still existed but peace because the initial crises had subsided. And I looked back and saw that God had a hand in it.

He gave me strength to attend to the situation; gave my body the stamina to do what was needed; and allowed my mind to be clear to make decisions and seek the help necessary. He also placed people in my life that I would never had known had I not been diagnosed with a chronic illness–people who have been invaluable to me both as friends and spiritual advisers.

God never leaves no matter how angry we get. We just need to seek and He will come and assist. That in itself is remarkable and comforting.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for never leaving me even when I try to push you away. I am amazed and comforting in the fact that you are always there. Thank you for helping me to grow in my faith through the trials that I have been through. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She retired from her job as an elementary school counselor in 2012. She is writing a book about her struggles with dysautonomia–a neurological condition in which the autonomic nervous system malfunctions, affected such things as blood pressure, heart rate, breathing and temperature regulation.

When do you seek out the Lord in your life?

We all go through seasons in our life when we turn from God instead of to Him. But He is always there waiting. This video is a lovely illustrated video of the dance of the prodigal by Sovereign Grace Music. -Lisa

11 thoughts on “When You Become Angry with God

  1. Laura – What honest words. I love how patient God is toward us! This was a timely reminder for me, as my ‘verse’ for the day is Matthew 7:7! Another God instance for me. I was recently diagnosed with the whole dysautonomia thing – it explains a lot of the weird things I experience. Was kind of glad to have a name for it. How I took my “healthy” body for granted! Thanks for your posting. : ) deni

  2. Deni- Yes God certainly is patient. Dysautonomia certainly does have ” weird symptoms.” Sorry to hear you have joined the “club.” God Bless You.
    I so enjoy your writing. Laura

  3. I just blogged about this issue myself a couple of weeks ago. It is so good God doesn’t leave us when we are angry but just walks with us on the journey. Because I am still angry about my chronic illnesses. I love knowing God can deal with me in that state. Because one day I will come out on the other side. I avoided mad for years dealing with my issues thinking it was wrong. But now, I know it is ok.

    • Yes, I agree it is ok to be angry and very comforting to know God will be with us throughout our journey. Thank you for writing,

  4. It is such a releif for me to read this! I have been feeling so angry, and at God, and then so bad for feeling angry with my gracious creator! Thank you for your honesty and I look forward to reading this again and taking it in a little more. Love Ali 🙂

  5. This has sooooo blessed me & spoken into my heart on a particularly difficult & teary day. Thanks Laura! Gentle hugs. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • Thanks Laura. God showed me later in the day what was happening & it explained it all! I’ve written about it on the Laughter Prayer Requests page. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  6. I am reading this post more than a year later. Thank you for this! It was very helpful and inspiring. I have struggled with anger for a while against God. It comes so quickly. I become angry out of fear that things will not work out, and I know He is more than able to fix all things in my life. I feel like He doesn’t hear me. I appreciate being able to read this, and wanted to encourage in knowing that people are still gleaning from this months and months later. God bless you.

    • Chelsea, thank you for writing. Funny, I just read what I wrote and the message was very pertinent to me. So I think your timing and God’s is perfect. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

