Blahs And Blessings Of Thorns And Roses

If you are feeling the thorns and roses in life while living with your illness you are not alone. Kerryn explains how to find the flowers in life. . .

“Your father’s blessings are greater than the blessings of the ancient mountains, than the bounty of the age-old hills” (Genesis 49:26).

Recently, I’ve become detective–like in looking for blessings. I wasn’t always like that though. Usually I was far too busy to fully notice the blessings around me and rarely “stopped to smell the roses.”

Now that I’m ill I’m seeing that there’s great significance in “smelling the roses.” Two vases of roses are gracing my lounge room, some as tight buds and others as full and generous blooms of joy. I’m thankful that there’s little to no scent to affect the multiple chemical sensitivities I have.

Roses are a great example of blahs and blessings going hand-in-hand together. There’s the beauty of the rose bud unfolding to full bloom, with the sweet fragrance of rose perfume. However, to collect it, one must go carefully or there’s the stab of thorns, with their jarring presence roughly felt.

Illness can strike people at any time. It’s cruel thorns stabbing, not only the one struck with illness, but all those who love them, with an amazing ripple effect.

The blah comes with yet another diagnosis, which both my middle son and I have recently undergone. It sticks it’s cruel words harshly into our lives, creating pain. Yet, if I look more closely and change my focus. . . the diagnosis brings with it the blessings of possible remedies and helps.

The Lord is faithful in answering our prayers and is highlighting to me that I need to look for His blessings and focus on them. It’s easy to miss them, particularly if they’ve been there for ages, like the “bounty of the age-old hills.”

I’m reminded that there are vast numbers of illustrations in the Bible of blahs leading to blessings. Two of the greatest connections of blahs and blessings are shown through the life of Jesus. He was born in a manger, in a smelly stable, to dwell amongst us and bless us with His life and teachings. Later, Jesus died an horrific death on the cross for our sins and rose again on the third day. He rose!

The ultimate rose, with a massive thorn piercing His side, prior to the grand surprise blessing. . . eternal life for us with our Heavenly Father!

The connections between the blahs and blessings have gone on and on for me recently. My challenge is to remain ever the detective, asking the Lord to reveal His blessings for me to find, see and enjoy amongst the blahs.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank You that You understand the connections of blahs and blessings more intensely than I ever will. Guide me, as I focus on Your blessings in my everyday life. I praise You for Your abundant daily blessings, both seen and unseen. Most especially, I thank and praise You for this time, reminding me of Your death and resurrection. . . for me! Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

How has focusing on the blessings helped you through the blahs of illness? How is this Easter renewing and blessing you? What can you do now, to further focus on the blessings, rather than the blahs?

This is the song “Above All” with Michael W. Smith. Kerryn has difficulty listening to music without it causing a severe headache, but this is one of her favorites and she wanted to share it with you. -Lisa

3 thoughts on “Blahs And Blessings Of Thorns And Roses

  1. Dear Lisa,
    thanks for the beautiful posting of the song…..I sang it through in my head & heart as I read the words. I was so peaceful watching the waves at sunset!! The beach is such a precious place for me, so THANK YOU! 🙂 God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • Kerryn, once again your devotional touches my heart. Thanks for reminding me to look for the roses and not just the thorns. I too have MCS-Multiple Chemical Sensitivities and it isolates me more each day as others do not understand that my exposure to the residue of their fragrance-perfume-scented detergent-shampoo candles, hand lotion and more make personal interaction a misery for me. I miss hugs, handshakes and attending church services and Bible study.

      This is my rose. At my request (I’m reminded again that by Seeking I Shall Find) my church is working with me to implement a Fragrance/Scent Free plan to accommodate the needs of folks with these types of sensitivities. With 7,000 members, I’m sure that I’m not the only one living with this issue!

      Lisa, the song and video is so beautiful and comforting. I sent it to my Mom and friends. Thank you for Rest Ministries and all you do in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

      I pray for your comfort and peace.

      Terri

      • Thanks Terri. Great that this encouraged you.

        Sorry that you have MCS too. I am sooooooooo impressed that your church is working “to implement a Fragrance/Scent Free plan to accommodate the needs of folks with these types of sensitivities.” I have heard that some are working on this, which is truly awesome & giving. Even if they made it that the 1st Sunday of the month is fragrance free Sunday, it would mean getting there on that Sunday each month.

        Even if the fragrance/chemical issues were fine at our church I wouldn’t manage going due to severe chronic fatigue. I’m finding that the Lord is a great preacher, worship leader etc & appreciate His divine church services at home….often at odd times of the day & night!! 🙂 God bless you in your mission Terri. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

