The Aftermath of Easter, Resurrection Power for Living

When we hear the word aftermath, we rarely think of a joyful outcome. Bronlynn explains. . .

“I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know. . . His incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of His mighty strength, which He exerted in Christ when He raised him from the dead and seated Him at Him right hand in the heavenly realms (Ephesians 1:18-20).

As we just celebrated Easter, I reflect not only its eternal, but its present, significance for me–resurrection power to handle earthly pain and struggles.

We may associate the concept of aftermath–a consequence or result of a situation–with negative situations, such as the devastation following natural disasters, or the aftermath of painful emotions following a relational loss.

We are living in the aftermath of Easter. Yes, Christ’s death brought great devastation for a time. But in the aftermath of His resurrection, we are given not only the forgiveness of sins and the promise of eternal life, but also the gift of His resurrection power within us.

I often forget that power as I go through my daily struggles. If I remember and act on that power, my responses to pain and trials will be different. I will have more endurance to fight my battles. I will face new problems as well as ongoing ones with less fear. I will have faith to believe God is good and trustworthy at all times and in all circumstances.

And when I falter, I will rejoice in forgiveness and keep persevering, growing, and trying while I wait for my eternal perfection.

Christ defeated our greatest enemies of death and separation from God. That same power lives in us, and there is no pain or problem that this resurrection power cannot conquer.

As we anticipate the joy that Easter brings, let us then live in its aftermath, taking not only the joy but the power with us through each day.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, how thankful I am that in that moment of Your glorious surrender at Easter You broke the chains in me. Lifted out of the ashes, I am found in the aftermath (taken from Aftermath by Hillsong). Help me live my life in that aftermath resurrection power. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in VA and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband and three grown daughters. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

What aspects of your pain or illness could you handle differently when you remember that Christ’s resurrection power is within you?

Bronlynn thought you may enjoy this son, Aftermath by Hillsong. Bless you! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

