What Outfit Did You Wear Today?

When we get dressed in an outfit each morning, do we consider how we are clothing ourselves in God’s spirit? Diane asks.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” (Colossian 3:12)

I live in Florida and have done so all my life, which is a rare thing if you speak to most that live here. So when we have cold weather I have to say I am a wimp! I complain when it gets below 60, and am usually wearing a heavy jacket. My husband, who is from up north originally and works outside most of the time, just looks at me and shakes his head. He always says this is the perfect weather he moved here for.

My point is that when it was just a little chilly the other day I tromped out of my house to art class with a sweater and jacket not knowing what I’d need as it was supposed to continue to get colder and windy throughout the day.

As I reached the end of my day I reflected, did I dress appropriately today after all? I thought about how God desires for me to “dress” what “outfit” would he have had me wear? He tells us to “clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” So I thought back about my actions throughout the day, when I stopped for coffee, did I take the time to look at the person at the register, to smile, to say thank you? Was I patient waiting in line or was I irritated knowing I was already running late for class, as usual, due to the difficulties of my illness and the unpredictability of my digestive system?

How about in class? Was I kind and patient waiting for assistance when the instructor was assisting other students? Was I gentle when speaking to others, humble? I have to say in some instances the answers were positive in others not so good.

In the end, I found myself asking for forgiveness and realizing that my first and most important part of my “outfit” needs to be to put on God’s Love, then and only then will I be prepared to face the day and model the “outfit” he desires me to.

Prayer: Lord, as we face each new day help us to remember to first and foremost choose to cover ourselves in your love so that when we come in contact with others the outfit they will see, will be a reflection of who You are in our life. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as a chronic pain and illness support group. She is a cancer survivor and has many digestive illness issues but relies on God for strength and peace while she continues to serve and love Him.

What outfit do you find yourself wearing? In what ways has God shown you how your actions reflect his character?

How are you living today when you choose your outfit? I like this song by Point of Grace, “How You Live” and it a beautiful original video by Point of Grace. Enjoy! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

