He Maketh Me Lie Down

A Philips 64 slice 'Brilliance' Scanner

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters.” (Psalm 23:1-2)

I was laying on my back in a CAT-scan-like contraption for a nuclear stress test, due to recent chest pains. It was just over a year ago that I have had a few MRIs so, I knew what to expect: 18 minutes in each of two sessions with zero movement allowed. My rheumatoid arthritis has cost partially torn rotator cuff and my shoulders do not lay flat, nor my arms by my side, making the simple task extremely painful.

The machine began and the clock on the wall moved in slow motion. After a couple of minutes of mentally adjusting to the environment that I was in, I started to say the 23rd Psalm.

“The Lord is my shepherd, He maketh me lie down…” Uh. . .yep!

“He makes me lie down! That’s for sure,” I thought. “Here I am! Stuck here on my back!” I kept trying to recite scripture but I could not get past Psalm 23:2. I even share this with the technician.

In December, I made a conscious choice to cut back on the daily busyness of ministry and get back to what I considered the passions of my life–writing, speaking, and growing closer to Him. I even cleaned my office and created a relaxing environment. But after three months, and six weeks of testing, here I was, waiting to see if I had another medical condition, a side effect–or just stress!

Despite my best intentions, I have not reached my goal of learning to relax yet. It is a daily step of surrendering everything on our to-do list over to God, knowing that he has complete control over what our body will and will not do today and none of it surprises Him.

Prayer: Lord, help me remember that nothing in this world is not vital to my well-being. My relationship with you and my loved ones should take top priority and when I forget man graciously accept you maketh me lie down.

About the Author:
Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries and is excited to announce that her new book is now available, “How to Start a Chronic Illness Small Group Ministry” . Her chest pain has lessened to a great degree, and she believes she has located the source as a side effect of a rheumatoid arthritis medication. She is currently still in the follow-up process with various doctors.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “He Maketh Me Lie Down

  1. Lisa

    When you figure out how to relax, fill me in on the secret!

    Yes, there are times when ‘He maketh me lie down’ and do nothing except think on Him and His goodness to us.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you as you go through tests and wait for results. I pray that there is nothing serious to add to your illnesses.

    Love and gentle hugs,
    Heather

  2. Pingback: Chronic Illness and the Hurtful Things People Say « Chronic Illness Articles

  3. Pingback: Rest Ministries - Chronic Illness and Pain Support

  4. Pingback: Rest Ministries - Chronic Illness and Pain Support

  5. Pingback: Explanation of the 23rd Psalm In Japanese is Comforting « Chronic Illness Pain Daily Devotionals

Leave a Reply

