Allowing Our Irritations Of Illness To Be Made Into Pearls

“And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance character, and character hope. And hope does not disappoint us because God has poured out His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us.” (Romans 5:2-5)

I was reading an article the other day that explained how a pearl is made from a grain of sand. The sand gets inside the oyster and irritates it. The result is an object of great beauty and value.

We can look at our different illnesses as a grain of sand and allow God to make us an object of great beauty and value that can be used by Him. Romans 5 reminds us that we have the hope and glory of God to work in our lives and –if we allow Him to–He will take our situation and use it to develop perseverance, character, and hope in us. The piece of sand that we live with can cause us to lean on God and allow Him to control the way we respond to our families and others we come in contact with.

We can choose to be grouchy, negative, and hard to get along with. Or we can choose to look at life in a positive way and know that God is all we need. No matter what the situation, we can count on Him to give us perseverance to face each day even if they are filled with pain and the inconsistencies of a long term illness. We can develop our character to be Christ-like, and learn to look past our personal sufferings at the hope we have in and through Him.

Even when living with a chronic disease we can live a life that is full of beauty and value to God and those we live and come in contact with.

It amazes me when people I barely know come up and say they have been influenced by the way I have handled a situation, knowing that it was difficult because of my illness. I always take the opportunity to give the praise to my Lord because I know that is how I get through each day and how I accomplish the things that I do.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for reminding me that even when I am suffering You are my hope, and that one day we will all be with You and free from pain. Make me into the person You want me to be so that others will see You at work in and through me.

About the author:
Linda Aufrance lives in Arizona with her husband of 37 years. She has 2 grown children and 3 beautiful grandchildren. She lives daily with the struggles of multiple sclerosis, lupus, and diabetes, but rests in the assurance that God is in control and tries to share His love with those she comes in contact with.

You can now read this on your Kindle. Find out more at http://TodaysDevotionOnKindle.com

How has God proven to be all you in need while going through a difficult time?

Enhanced by Zemanta

5 thoughts on “Allowing Our Irritations Of Illness To Be Made Into Pearls

  1. Linda, Thank you for writing such a beautiful and encouraging article. It helps when we are in daily pain to be reminded that God can and does use our situations for good. May God Bless You Abundantly!

  2. Linda, thank you for the beautiful illustration and reminder of how a pearl is made. Scripture tells us of the one who found a pearl of great price and elsewhere how we are to have a rich inheritance in heaven. Even now, God is working.

    Your writing today makes me think that we may be handed a pearl necklace as a reward for our perseverance!

    Bless you!
    Lynn

  3. Yes! This is my prayer! I am grateful that the Lord is teaching me how to have a thankful heart in the midst of my experience, which is not as severe as it could be. He is a merciful and gracious God.

Leave a Reply

