Open Your Windows

“His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse, nor his delight in the legs of a man; the Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.” (Psalm 147:10-11 NIV)

I have been in ministry off and on throughout my Christian life and I love it. The hardest time for me is when reluctantly God puts me on the shelf, when both door and window are tightly closed. My thoughts continue to go to the same place, “I should be doing something.” But what?

It is my mistake to believe that activity equals accomplishment; this verse affirms that. His delight is not in my “doing” but in my devotion to Him. I believe that it is during these quiet times that my roots grow deeper as I seek Him for Him alone.

He knows my body tires very quickly and I tend to push past its bounds so He leads me beside quiet waters and restores my soul just as the 23rd psalm says. It becomes about our love relationship, the intimacy we have from spending times together rather than works.

As people with chronic illness our hope remains in His unfailing love. Our bodies don’t work as we would like and our “doing” has been greatly diminished but He continues to delight or, according to the Hebrew, “be well pleased” with us. What a blessing!

It is our heart and mind that needs to be refreshed with this word. Laying down what we think pleases God and embracing what He is now saying to me and you.

Do not fear inactivity, but in those times allow the Lord’s love to be a balm that invades your body, soul and spirit so that when He again calls, you might go out again changed, more like Him because we have laid down the “doing” and embraced Him.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Catherine Barron lives in Sheridan, Montana. She is semi retired and loves to read, write and enjoy her latest hobby, outdoor photography, although her first love will always be the word of God. She considers her fibromyalgia a formidable unrelenting teacher.

4 thoughts on “Open Your Windows

  1. Thank you, Catherine, for writing in such a beautiful way. Once again, I find within this community of sufferers people who can express exactly in words what had been bottled up in my heart and mind for nearly 7 years now, but couldn’t express. It feels sooo good! Your text makes me feel loved by God, rather than rejected. Please keep on writing and bless others. God bless you!

    Michel

    • Thank you for your kind response Michel. I too needed to read his again as I have been ill for the past 5 days and once again was remined to fall into His love and leaving the doing behind. He is well pleased with you Michel, never forget that. :-) God bless you too.
      Catherine

  2. Thank you, Catherine – your words ring true for so many of us.

    Even within the community of folks who suffer with chronic challenges, there are differing levels of abilities to be active.

    It genuinely is so hard when we once were able to be so “productive”. Getting the reality down deep into our hearts that God is more concerned with our relating to Him and others in less “showy” ways is a long lesson to grasp but when we do, there is more peace. He may even open new doors we had not dreamed of.

    I am grateful for your reminders here!

    Bless you!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

